Montana Written Knowledge Test | MT MVD Test Practice

Results

-

Great job! This is a passing score. Do you want to try again?

New set of questions

 

Unfortunately, this is not a passing score. Do you want to try again?

New set of questions

 

#1. When you park your car on the same side as an entrance to a fire station, you must keep this distance from the driveway entrance:

Do not park within 20 feet of a fire station driveway on the same side of the street, or within 75 feet of a driveway on the other side of the street.

Continue

#2. When approaching a stationary emergency vehicle with flashing lights on an interstate, you must:

To pass a traffic stop or crash, you should slow down, signal, and move into the passing lane, unless otherwise directed by law enforcement or other authority. You must pass with caution and at a speed that is not faster than is reasonable and proper under the conditions.

Montana Move Over Law states that you upon approaching a stationary authorized emergency vehicle or police vehicle must reduce the vehicle’s speed, proceed with caution, and, if possible, considering safety and traffic conditions, move to a lane that is not adjacent to the lane in which the authorized emergency vehicle or police vehicle is located or move as far away from the authorized emergency vehicle or police vehicle as possible.

Continue

#3. You have pulled out to pass another vehicle on the left side of the road. An oncoming vehicle is approaching faster than expected. What should you do?

If an oncoming vehicle may create a hazard, pull back and wait. Never not pass unless you have enough space to return to the driving lane – do not count on other drivers to make room for you.

Continue

#4. When children are nearby, what should you do before you back out of a driveway or parking lot?

If you are going to back the vehicle, it is a good practice to walk completely around the vehicle to be sure no person or obstacle is behind it. Children or small objects cannot be seen from the driver’s seat.

Continue

#5. Which is true about driving at a slow speed?

Going much slower than other vehicles can be just as risky as speeding. It tends to make vehicles bunch up behind you and causes the other traffic to pass you. Remember, you must not drive a motor vehicle at such slow speed as to impede normal and reasonable movement of traffic, except when necessary for safety or compliance with law.

Continue

#6. To prepare for hazards on the road, you should:

To be a good driver, you must know what is happening around your vehicle. You must look ahead, to the sides, and behind the vehicle. Scanning helps you to see problems ahead, vehicles and people that may be in the road by the time you reach them, signs warning of problems ahead, and signs giving you directions.

Remember, take in the whole scene. If you only look at the middle of the road, you will miss what is happening on the side of the road and behind you.

Continue

#7. If the pavement is wet when you approach this sign, you could skid if you:

Slippery when wet.

Pavement is unusually slick when wet. Reduce your speed, do not brake hard or change directions suddenly. Increase the distance between your vehicle and the vehicle in front of you.

This sign is often located near bridges and overpasses.

Continue

#8. What does this sign mean?

A steep grade is ahead. Check your brakes. Slow down and be ready to shift to lower gear to control speed and protect brakes from damage.

Continue

#9. When traveling at 50 mph, what is your approximate stopping distance with perfect 4-wheel brakes under favorable conditions (distance your car will travel before it comes to a stop, including a thinking time of 3/4 second)?

A car traveling at 50 mph will need approximately 201 feet before it comes to a stop (including perception, thinking, and braking distance).

Table in your driver manual shows stopping distances with perfect 4-wheel brakes on best type of road service under favorable conditions.

Continue

#10. If you were involved in a collision in which someone was injured or killed, a written report to the Highway Patrol:

You must report to the Highway Patrol if there is an injury, a death, or property damage of $1,000 or more to one person’s property. Accident forms are at law enforcement agencies or available from most insurance agents. You must file the report within 10 days of the accident.

Remember, at scene of the accident you must immediately notify law enforcement if anyone is injured or killed, or property damage is $500 or more.

Continue

#11. When you see a truck with an oversized load ahead of you, you should:

Allow extra space when following large vehicles that block your view ahead. The extra space allows you to see around the vehicle and allows the other driver to see you.

Continue

#12. A driver with a Traffic Education Learner License (TELL) permit must be supervised by an approved instructor or a licensed parent or guardian:

A driver with a TELL permit must be supervised by a licensed parent or guardian at all times.

Continue

#13. You are more likely to get tired on a long trip if you:

You should not drive late at night when you normally sleep.

To help prevent you from getting tired on a long trip:

  • Try to get a normal night’s sleep before you leave.
  • Do not leave on a trip if you are already tired. Plan your trips so you can leave when you are rested.
  • Eat lightly. Do not eat a large meal before you leave. Some people get sleepy after they eat a big meal.
  • Take breaks. Stop every two hours or so, or when you need to.
  • Plan for plenty of time to complete your trip safely.
  • Try not to drive late at night when you are normally asleep.
  • Never drive if you are sleepy.
Continue

#14. When should you use your horn?

Use your horn whenever it will help prevent an accident. Do not use your horn to show other drivers that they made a mistake or around blind pedestrians.

Continue

#15. You are approaching a stopped school bus on your side of an undivided highway with four lanes. The bus is flashing its red lights. You must:

Upon meeting or passing from either direction any school bus stopped with its red lights flashing, the driver of a vehicle must stop at least 30 feet from the bus and cannot proceed until the red lights are turned off. You do not need to stop if meeting or passing a school bus that is on a different road or is stopped in an adjacent loading zone where pedestrians are not allowed to cross the road.

Continue

#16. A road sign with a round shape means:

A circular sign is used to warn that there is a railroad crossing ahead.

Continue

#17. On cold, wet days, which of the following roadways is most likely to hide spots of ice?

On cold, wet days shady spots can be icy. These areas freeze first and dry out last.

Overpasses and other types of bridges can have icy spots. The pavement on bridges can be icy even when other part of the road is not. This is because bridges do not have earth underneath them to help insulate them against the cold.

Continue

#18. Which is true about the right of way at a 4-way stop?

Yield to the vehicle that arrives first, or to the vehicle on your right if it reaches the intersection at the same time as you.

Continue

#19. The driver in front of you signals (left arm extended horizontally out of open window):

Left turn – left arm extended horizontally out of open window.

Continue

#20. If you are traveling in lane B (beneath a steady yellow X), you must:

Some travel lanes are designed to carry traffic in one direction at certain times and in the opposite direction at other times.

  • A green arrow means you can use the lane beneath it.
  • A red X means that you may not.
  • A flashing yellow X means the lane is only for turning.
  • A steady yellow X means that the use of the lane is changing, and you should move out of it as soon as it is safe to do so.
Continue

#21. The amount of alcohol in the blood is generally referred to as:

Blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is the percentage of alcohol in your blood, and is usually determined by a breath, blood, or urine test.

Continue

#22. You must stop before railroad tracks:

By law, you must stop when:

  • There is a stop sign.
  • A warning signal tells you a train is approaching.
  • A crossing gate is lowered.
  • A flag person signals the approach of a train.
  • A railroad train emits a signal, indicating that the train is an immediate hazard.
  • An approaching railroad train is plainly visible and is in hazardous proximity to such crossing.
Continue

#23. Which is true about seat belts?

Studies have shown that if you are in a crash and are using safety belts, your chances of being hurt or killed are greatly reduced.

Continue

#24. What does this sign mean?

The One-Way sign is used in intersections to indicate streets or roadways upon which traffic is allowed to travel in one direction only. Do not turn against the arrow.

Continue

#25. This sign tells you:

No Left Turn.

You must not make a left turn at this intersection.

When you see a sign with a red circle and a red slash mark across a black arrow or symbol, it means don’t do whatever is shown.

Continue

#26. Which is true about sharing the road with a bicyclist?

Motorists must grant people operating bicycles the same rights as the operators of any vehicle legitimately using Montana roadways.

Bicyclists also have the same responsibilities as other road users.

Continue

#27. You are about to drive, but cannot find the glasses you need to wear. What should you do?

If you need to wear glasses or contact lenses for driving, remember to always wear them when you drive, even if it is only to run down to the corner. If your driver license says you must wear corrective lenses and you are not and you happen to be stopped, you could get a ticket.

Try to keep an extra pair of glasses in your vehicle. Then if your regular glasses were to break or be lost, you can drive safely. This also can be helpful if you do not wear glasses all the time. It is easy to misplace them.

Continue

#28. Which of the following is true about driving on a wet roadway?

When it is raining or the road is wet, most tires have good traction up to about 35 mph. However, as you go faster, your tires will start to ride upon the water, like water skis. This is called hydroplaning. In a heavy rain, your tires can lose all traction with the road at about 50 mph. Bald or badly worn tires will lose traction at much lower speeds. The best way to keep from hydroplaning is to slow down in the rain or when the road is wet.

Continue

#29. For normal driving, you should grip the steering wheel by:

It is best to have your hands at about 9 o’clock and 3 o’clock positions – or 8 o’clock and 4 o’clock in newer vehicles equipped with air bags on the steering wheel (this position gives you control of the vehicle and reduces the risk of hand and arm injury in the event of a crash).

Continue

#30. When a traffic signal is showing a red arrow:

A steady red arrow means stop. Stop and remain stopped except for allowed turns on red.

When entering a two-way street, you may cautiously turn right after stopping. You may make the right turn unless a sign or police officer tells you not to turn against the red light.

When entering a one-way street from a one-way street, you may also turn left after stopping.

Continue

#31. When driving at night it is important to always:

It is harder to see at night. You need to be closer to an object to see it at night than during the day. Remember that you must be able to stop within the distance you can see ahead with your headlights, which is about 400 feet. You should drive at a speed that allows you to stop within this distance, or about 50 mph.

Continue

#32. When you want to make a right turn at an intersection with a steady red light, you should:

A steady red signal means stop.

When entering a two-way street, you may cautiously turn right after stopping. You may make the right turn unless a sign or police officer tells you not to turn against the red light.

When entering a one-way street from a one-way street, you may also turn left after stopping.

Continue

#33. You can legally drive in a carpool lane if you are:

HOV stands for High Occupancy Vehicles and indicates lanes reserved for vehicles with more than one person in them. Signs say how many people must be in the vehicle, as well as the days and hours to which it applies. For example, HOV 3 means that there must be at least three people in the vehicle.

See result





Montana MVD Written Test

Quick facts about your driver’s written exam in Montana:

  Number of Questions: 33
  Correct answers needed: 27
  Passing score: 82 percent
  Time limit: None
  Earliest retest upon failure: No official rule

500+ Montana Test Questions

This Montana practice test has 33 questions to help you pass the written knowledge test for a learner’s permit or full driver’s license.

Just like the real written test, this practice test pulls random questions from a large pool of exam questions, which makes each set of questions unique and gives you a chance to practice until you feel comfortable with all answers.

Montana Driver Manual

Study the Montana Driver Manual

Everything on your written knowledge test is based on the information you can find in the Montana Driver Manual issued by Montana Motor Vehicle Division (MVD).

The easiest way to pass your knowledge test is to start by getting the latest version of the manual. If you sign up for a driver education, they will provide you with a copy. You can also get a copy from any MVD service center or download a PDF-version online .

Reading the manual is a must. You are less likely to pass your exam without a good understanding of Montana traffic laws and common rules of the road.

Written Test Practice

The purpose of the written test practice is to help you study and prepare you for the real examination.

You need to correctly answer 27 of the 33 multiple-choice question on the exam. That is a passing score slightly above 80%, which is higher than in most states .

The failure rate on the Montana written test is also higher than in many other states.

So, it is a good idea to prepare well for the test.

Take a few practice tests per day over the course of a week and you will probably see how your score improves over time.

Try to focus on understanding questions and answers, don’t just rush through each test to get a passing score.



The Real Montana Written Exam

When new drivers fail the real exam, they often say that they didn’t read carefully enough. It is common to be nervous before the test and just want to get it over with. Slowing down can help you stay focused.

Read the directions thoroughly and carefully read all answers before making a choice. There is nothing worse than realizing you missed a question just because you picked an answer too quickly.

This is especially true if you see the old-fashioned test choices like “none of the above” or “all of the above” on your exam. Creators of multiple-choice tests tend to only use these options when there are many things you should do or many things you must not do. Ask yourself if there are several possible answers to the question. There usually is.

There is no time limit on the test, so you are not in a hurry. Most test takers finish in about 15 minutes.

If you fail your exam, you can take it again the next day if there are available appointments or if your examiner allows you to do so. Sometimes, it can be a smart move to wait just a few days more. You don’t want to fail the test twice.

The Montana written test is a close book test. You cannot use your manual, any notes, or electronic devices during the test.

Montana MVD does not offer home testing. You must take the test as part of a driver education or at a MVD office.

Is the Montana Written Test hard?

Failure rate is approximately 30%. The difficulty level is graded “moderate”.

Moderate - DMV Test difficulty grading by licenseroute

A Montana Driver’s License is a Privilege

Remember these points about your MT Driver’s License or Learner’s Permit.

  A driver’s license is a privilege, not a right, and the privilege comes with responsibilities.

  Anyone who drives a motor vehicle on public roadways in Montana must have a driver’s license (or learner license)

  You may have only one valid license at any time.

  You must always have the license in your possession when you drive.

  It is against the law to loan your license to anyone.

  When you move to Montana and become a resident you must get a Montana driver’s license within 60 days.

  A Montana Class D driver’s license is valid for a maximum of four to eight years.



The Montana Graduated Driver Licensing Program

Like all other states, Montana has a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program. It effects all new drivers under 18 years.

GDL is a three-step progressive program that allows new drivers to develop and improve their driving skills over time. By introducing driving restrictions such as night curfews and passenger restrictions, the program helps reduce the crash risk for teen drivers.

GDL Step 1: The Instruction Permit

  You must be at least 14 years, 6 months

If you are enrolled in or have successfully completed a state-approved traffic education program, you can get your permit as part of the program when you are 14 ½ years old.

Without a traffic education program, you can get a learner license from a driver exam station if you are 16 years old.

  You must pass the written test

You must pass a vision screening and the written test. You cannot have been found by a court to be mentally incompetent, alcoholic, or a habitual user of illegal drugs.

  You cannot drive alone

With a learner license you cannot drive alone. You must always be supervised by a licensed parent or guardian, or a licensed adult driver who is authorized by the parent or guardian.

You should apply for a learner license at the MVD if other licensed adults should be allowed to supervise your driving during this phase.

  You must practice driving for at least 50 hours

With your learner license you must log at least 50 hours of supervised driving, of which at least 10 hours must be at night.

  You must hold the learner license for 6 months

Before you can apply for a first-year restricted license, you must hold your learner license for at least six months or until you are 18 years.

  All occupants must wear seat belts

GDL Step 2: First-Year Restricted License

The first-year restricted license is also known as an intermediate license.

If you are under 18 years, you can apply for this license if you held your learner license for at least six months and if you successfully completed step 1, including 50 hours of supervised driving.

You cannot have any traffic violations or alcohol/drug offenses in the six-month period before advancing to this step.

The license comes with the following restrictions:

  You cannot drive alone at night

You cannot drive unsupervised between 11:00 pm and 5:00 am. There are limited exceptions to this rule, like going to and from work.

  You can drive with only a limited number of non-family passengers under 18 years

For the first six months, you can drive with only one non-family passenger under 18 years. During the second six months, you can drive with no more than three non-family passengers under 18 years.

The passenger restrictions don’t apply if you are supervised by a licensed parent or guardian, or a licensed adult driver who is authorized by the parent or guardian.

  All occupants must wear seat belts

GDL Step 3: Full-Privilege Driver License

The first-year restricted license restrictions automatically end on the date indicated on the back of driver license (typically, one year), or when the individual turns 18 years old, whichever occurs first.

Practice for your Montana driver license test


Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments