Kentucky Permit Test Practice – All Questions and Answers

Results

-

This is a passing score. Do you want to try again?

Take knowledge test again

Or try the road sign quiz?

Kentucky road sign test

This is not a passing score. Do you want to try again?

Take knowledge test again

Or try the road sign quiz?

Kentucky road sign test

#1. When parking uphill on a two-way street with no curbs, your front wheels should be:

Headed either uphill or downhill and there is no curb, turn the wheels to the right so the car will roll away from the center of the road if the brakes fail.

Remember, when you park on a hill, the general rule is to turn your wheels sharply towards the side of the road or curb. This way, if your vehicle starts to roll downhill, it will roll away from traffic. However, when headed uphill at a curb, you should turn the front wheels in the opposite direction, away from the curb and towards the road. Then, let your vehicle roll backwards until the back of your front wheel touches the curb. The curb will stop your car from rolling into traffic.

Study the diagram provided in your driver’s handbook.

Continue

#2. To check your blind spot when changing lanes to the left you should glance:

Blind spots are areas near the left and right rear corners of your vehicle that you cannot see in your mirrors. Before you move sideways to change lanes or to pass, glance over your shoulder to check for traffic near the left or right rear corners of your vehicle. Do not drive in someone else’s blind spot.

Continue

#3. If you are driving in fog and conditions are so bad that you can barely see the road ahead:

In a heavy rain, snowstorm, or a thick fog, you may not be able to see more than 100 feet ahead. When you cannot see any farther than that, you cannot safely drive faster than 25 miles per hour. You should also use your low-beam headlights. If the fog or smoke becomes so thick that you cannot see well enough to keep driving, pull all the way off the pavement and stop. Turn on your emergency flashers.

Continue

#4. At an uncontrolled intersection, a pedestrian has entered the crosswalk. In this situation, you should:

By law, you must yield when pedestrians are in a crosswalk or at an intersection and there is no traffic light. You must also yield when turning a corner and pedestrians are crossing with the light.

Every pedestrian crossing a roadway at a point other than within a marked crosswalk or within an unmarked crosswalk at an intersection shall yield the right-of-way to all vehicles upon the roadway.

Continue

#5. If a school bus with flashing red lights has stopped on the other side of a four-lane roadway with a median separation, you should:

Where there are school buses, there are usually children. Children are likely to do something unexpected, so be prepared. When you come to a school or church bus that is stopped on any roadway to load or unload passengers, you must stop. By law you must remain stopped until all people are clear of the roadway and the bus is in motion.

A stop is not required when approaching a stopped bus from the opposite direction upon a highway of four or more lanes.

Continue

#6. When passing another vehicle on a two-lane road, you must:

Kentucky law requires that a pass be completed before reaching the beginning of a no passing zone and that a pass be completed when within 100 feet of an oncoming vehicle. If you are still in the left lane when you reach the no passing zone, you are violating the law.

Continue

#7. Signaling before turning is:

Giving an appropriate turn signal is required by law. You shall use your turn signals before you:

  • Parallel Park.
  • Make a turnabout (turnaround).
  • Change lanes or pass another vehicle.
  • Turn at an intersection.
  • Enter or leave a freeway or interstate highway.
  • Pull away from the curb.
  • Pull over to the side of the road.
Continue

#8. Car tires must have a minimum tread depth of:

Worn tires can cause hydroplaning and increase the chance of a flat tire. Check the tread with a penny. Stick the penny into the tread, head first. If the tread does not come at least to Lincoln’s head (2/32 inch), the tire is illegal and unsafe, and you need to replace it.

Continue

#9. The Implied Consent Law means:

If you are stopped by a law enforcement officer, you may be asked to take a chemical test of the alcohol in your body. Under the Implied Consent Law, anyone who operates a motor vehicle in Kentucky consents to take a chemical test if arrested for DUI. If you take the test, the reading will be used in court as evidence.

If you refuse, your license may be revoked even if you are not convicted of the DUI charge or any other violations.

Continue

#10. When making a left turn on a two-way street with multiple lanes, you should complete the turn in:

Finish your turn in the proper lane. When turning into another street, turn into the lane nearest to you. If you need to change to another lane, do so only after you have finished your turn and when the traffic is clear. Avoid a wide swing during your turn. Some intersections are marked to permit turns from more than one lane, and you may make your turns as indicated by signs or pavement markings.

Continue

#11. If you become involved in a road-rage incident, you can make the situation worse if you:

If you are angry or upset with another person or driver, do not vent your feelings through use of your vehicle.

To prevent the occurrence of road rage, drive safely and be courteous to other motorists. Do not engage in aggressive driving habits. If you should become involved in a road-rage incident, do not retaliate or engage in an argument with the enraged driver. You will only worsen the problem.

Continue

#12. A white cloth tied to a radio antenna or a door handle indicates:

If your vehicle breaks down on a highway, make sure that other drivers can see it. Turn on your emergency flashers. Park your vehicle on the shoulder, as far to the right as possible. Avoid standing behind the car or between two cars.

Continue

#13. When you accidently run off the pavement, you can lose control of the vehicle if you:

  • Take your foot off the gas pedal and reduce speed.
  • Hold the wheel firmly and steer in a straight line.
  • Brake lightly.
  • Wait until the road is clear.
  • Turn back on the pavement at slow speed (no more than 5 mph).

Remember, do not try to swing back onto the pavement right away. Do not over-correct steering. Over-correcting might throw your vehicle off balance.

Continue

#14. If an emergency vehicle with flashing lights has stopped on the shoulder of a two-lane roadway, you must:

On two-lane highways, approach slowly and pass with caution.

Continue

#15. If you are less than 18 years of age, your license may be suspended as soon as your driver's record accumulate how many points?

If a person of eighteen or more years accumulates twelve points within a period of two years, or a person less than eighteen accumulates more than six points in a period of two years, the Cabinet may suspend the driving privilege for a period of six months for the first accumulation of points, one year for the second accumulation of points, and two years for any subsequent accumulation of points within a two-year period.

For any offense for which the suspension of the driving privilege is six months or less for the first offense, the second conviction of a similar offense shall result in a suspension period of not less than one year, and any subsequent conviction for any similar offense not less than two years. If the Cabinet suspends the driving privilege of a person more than one (1) time, the suspension times shall run consecutively.

Note that seven points are required (more than six points).

See result




The Kentucky State Police Permit Test

Key numbers for your official Kentucky knowledge examination:

Test Questions part I: 30
Test Questions part II: 10
Passing score (each part): 80%
Time limit: No
Earliest retest if you fail: 1 day

Kentucky Permit Test Practice - Photo by Andrea Piacquadio

Kentucky Written Knowledge Test

The written knowledge test in Kentucky is a two-part examination test with 40 questions.

The first part has 30 questions about Kentucky traffic regulations, safe driving, signals, and common rules of the road. You need 24 correct answers to pass this part.

The second part of the examination is a road sign identification test. Out of 10 road signs, you must correctly identify at least 8 signs based on color, shape, symbols, and word messages.

You must reach the passing score of 80% on each part.

This Kentucky Permit Practice Test

This permit practice test is limited to 15 questions that focuses on the main part of your driver examination. For a Kentucky road sign practice, you should visit this page: Kentucky Road Signs and What They Mean .

Questions on your practice tests are random, just like the real examination. They are drawn from a pool with more than 500 questions. All answers to the questions are found in the Kentucky Driver Manual, which means that the test has questions only for the Kentucky examination.

You will get instant feedback and short explanations to help you understand the correct answers. The practice test is easy to use and helps you learn much faster than by just studying the Driver Manual.

This permit practice is not an approved or authorized learning tool. Licenseroute.com is in no way affiliated with the Department of Kentucky State Police. Hundreds of users each year can, however, verify that the practice test has helped them study and pass the exam on their first try.

Is the Kentucky Permit Test Difficult?

Over the years, the Kentucky Driver Manual has been widely criticized for being poorly organized and a patchwork of information. No doubt, this also affects the pass rates in Kentucky. About one-third of all first-time test takers fail the knowledge part of their license examination.

With the right preparations, the test itself must, however, be considered fairly easy.

Easy - DMV Test difficulty grading by licenseroute

Is there a Time Limit on the Test?

There is no time limit on the knowledge test, but examiners expect the test to take 30 minutes. In our experience most test takers finish in less than 15 minutes.

If you have studied the manual and taken enough practice test, most questions will be familiar to you and answering them should be easy. Just remember to read everything with care. Evaluate all answer alternatives before you pick your answer.

Where Should I Take the Test?

In Kentucky, all driver license testing is administered by the Department of Kentucky State Police. You must take the test in the county where you reside. If you, for some reason, want to take the test in another county, you must a written permission by the Transportation Cabinet.

Schools don’t offer knowledge testing and you cannot take the test online.



Can I Take the Test in Spanish?

The computerized knowledge test is available in several languages, including:

Albanian
Arabic
Bosnian
Cambodian
Chinese
Croatian
English
French
German
Japanese
Korean
Laotian
Persian
Polish
Romanian
Russian
Somali
Spanish
Thai
Turkish
Vietnamese

Will the Practice Test Help Me Pass the Exam?

All research and every survey confirm that practice tests truly help.

You should, however, use them wisely. A common mistake is to rely solely on practice tests and try to use them as a cheat sheet.

To pass the examination you must think of the Driver Manual as your primary source of learning. Everything you must study for the test is found in this manual. We recommend that you get a hard copy from the Kentucky State Police. If you are comfortable with studying on a computer, you can also rely on the latest PDF-version of the manual, which you can find online .

This practice test works best in combination with the Driver Manual. Try to use both during each study session. It will help you learn much faster.

How Many Times Can I Take this Practice Test?

There is no limit on how many times you can use this practice test and no hidden fees. With random questions in each set, you can feel comfortable that the test will look slightly different each time you take and challenge your knowledge each time.

When you reach a full score on each practice test, you may be ready for the real driver examination.

Why are there Less Questions on the Practice Test?

We have cut the practice test in half. It has 15 questions instead of 30. But we have not excluded any important information. By taking 2-3 tests, you will still cover a wide range of subjects from the manual.

What Happens if I Fail the Test?

Many counties allow you to make another attempt the next business day. In the unlikely event of six failures in a row, you must wait at least six months before you can start over. So, if you hit four or five failures, it is important that you let someone help you and change your study strategy.

Frequently asked questions - Photo by Andrea Piacquadio

Frequently Asked Questions

At what age can I get a Kentucky learner’s permit?

In Kentucky, you must be at least 16 years to apply for your firs learner’s permit.

What Documents do I need to apply for a permit?

As a first-time applicant you must provide proof of:

  • Identity and date of birth (birth certificate)
  • Legal presence (non-citizens)
  • Kentucky residence

You must also provide your Social Security Card if you have one.

If you are under 18 years, you must also show proof of school attendance (School Compliance Verification Form) and have a parent or guardian approve the application.

Remember that the parent or legal guardian who signed your driver license application can withdraw responsibility at any time, which cancels your permit or license.



Must I enroll in a driver training program?

New driver under 18 years must complete a driver education program before they are eligible for the full, unrestricted driver license. You have several options to complete this driver education:

  • Classroom version that is offered free of charge.
  • Online version with a fee.
  • Driver Education Course at a high school.
  • Private Driver Training course at a driving school.

If you are 18 years or older, the program is still recommended, but not mandatory.

How long must I hold a permit before getting a license?

If you are under 18 years, you must hold the instruction permit for at least 180 days before you can apply for an intermediate driver license.

A moving traffic violation may force you to restart the 180-day waiting period.

How many hours of driving practice must I complete?

To earn a Kentucky driver license, a teen driver must complete at least 50 hours of daylight and 10 hours of night driving (a total of no less than 60 hours).

What are the restrictions on a minor’s permit?

Under no circumstances can you drive on your own when you hold a learner’s permit. You must always be accompanied by a licensed driver in the front passenger seat. The supervising driver must be at least 21 years old.

You cannot drive between midnight and 6:00 a.m. unless there is an emergency or necessary for activities related to your school or work.

You cannot carry more than one passenger under 20 years who is not your immediate family. The passenger restriction does not apply if you drive together with a driver training instructor.

If you are under 18 years, you cannot use any kind of wireless communication device while driving, including all handheld and hands-free cell phones and text messaging devices.

All passengers must wear seat belts, regardless of seating position or age.

Kentucky Road Signs and What They Mean

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*