#1. If you accidently run off the pavement, you should:
If you run off the road, do not panic. Stay on the shoulder and gradually reduce your speed. Ease up on the gas pedal and use your brakes carefully. Regain control, look in the direction you want to go, then turn slowly back onto the road.
Too often motorists panic, over-correcting, and steer abruptly to return to the road.
#2. To avoid drowsy driving, you should:
Do not leave on a trip if you are already tired. If you are seriously sleep deprived, it is best to stay off the road.
Do not take any medicine that can make you drowsy. Avoid driving when drowsiness is most likely, from 10 pm to 6 am. Drowsy driving is more common when driving through the night or at times when you are normally asleep.
#3. If pulled over and issued a citation requiring a signature, you should:
If the officer issues you a citation, do not argue with the officer about the citation.
You will be asked to sign the citation. This is not an admission of guilt. Refusal to sign the citation may result in your arrest. Or you may be required to go to the police station.
#4. It is always illegal to use a cell phone for text messaging while driving:
When on the road, drivers should not use cell phones, computers, or other distracting devices except to report a crash or emergency. There is, however, no general prohibition on cell phone use while driving in Virginia.
Virginia law prohibits drivers under age 18 from using cell phones or any other wireless communication device while driving except in a driver emergency and the vehicle is lawfully parked or stopped.
Text messaging or reading of text messages while driving is illegal for all drivers
#5. If you want to see vehicles in your blind spot, you must:
Even correctly adjusted mirrors will leave blind spots behind both sides of your vehicle. Expect vehicles to be in those blind spots you cannot see in your rearview or side mirrors. Quickly glance over your shoulder and check for any vehicles that may be in your blind spot.
#6. What will help you to eliminate alcohol from the blood stream?
Only time can decrease intoxication. Things like coffee, cold showers, vitamins, or exercise will not sober you up.
#7. Unless otherwise posted, what is the legal speed limit on rural rustic roads?
The legal speed limit on rural rustic roads is 35 mph.
#8. A flashing yellow light means:
A flashing yellow light means slow down and proceed with caution. Flashing yellow lights are at locations with higher-than-normal hazardous conditions.
#9. When driving in rain, you must use:
Virginia law requires motorists to use headlights during inclement weather such as rain, fog, snow, or sleet when visibility is reduced to 500 feet. Fog, rain, and snow reflects light and can reflect your own headlights back into your eyes. Use low-beam headlights.
#10. A car passenger who is 5 years must:
All children under age eight must be properly secured in a child safety seat or booster seat when riding in vehicles manufactured after January 1, 1968. Children age eight or older, but younger than age 18, must be properly secured in a safety belt, booster seat or child safety seat.
#11. You see this sign on a vehicle ahead. What does it mean?
A fluorescent and reflective orange triangular sign indicates slow-moving vehicles, such as farm and construction equipment operating on public highways. Be prepared to adjust your speed or position when you see a vehicle with this sign.
#12. When is it safe to pass a vehicle that has stopped at a crosswalk?
Do not pass another vehicle:
- On a hill or a curve or at any time you cannot see far enough ahead.
- At a street crossing or intersection.
- At a railroad crossing.
- On narrow bridges or in underpasses or tunnels.
- When a sign prohibits passing or center lines restrict passing.
- When behind a vehicle that has stopped to let a pedestrian cross.
Bicycles are considered vehicles and have the same right-of-way as motor vehicles. Bicyclists are also expected to obey the same traffic rules and regulations as other vehicle drivers.
#14. To avoid glare from high-beam headlights of an approaching car:
If a vehicle is approaching with high-beam headlights, you should look to the right of the road until the vehicle passes. Never flash high beams at an approaching motorist.
#15. When may you drive at the maximum speed indicated by a speed limit sign?
A speed limit is the maximum legal speed you can travel on a road under ideal conditions. You may drive slower than the posted speed, but it is illegal to drive any faster. By law, you must drive slower if conditions such as road construction or bad weather make the posted speed unsafe.
#16. When approaching a stopped school bus with flashing red lights at a four-way intersection, which car or cars must stop in this situation?
You must stop for stopped school buses with flashing red lights and an extended stop sign when you approach from any direction on a highway, private road, or school driveway.
#17. Which is true about seat belts?
Wearing seat belts, also called safety belts, can double your chances of surviving a crash and more than double your chances of avoiding serious injury. Your shoulder and lap belts should be snug. Remember to wear your lap belt low on your lap and against your thighs. Wear your shoulder belt over your shoulder and across your chest. Never wear your shoulder belt behind your back or under your arm.
#18. Because motorcycles are smaller than cars:
Look for motorcyclists. In more than half of all crashes involving motorcycles and automobiles, the other driver didn’t see the motorcycle until it was too late. Drivers are conditioned to look for four-wheeled vehicles – but they don’t expect to see two-wheeled vehicles. A motorcycle’s small size also makes it difficult to see.
Check your blind spots. A motorcycle’s small size allows it to slip into your blind spot easily. Always check for motorcycles before you pull out, change lanes, turn, back up or proceed through an intersection.
#19. A broken yellow line alongside a solid yellow line means:
Yellow lines mark the center of a road used for traffic going in opposite directions. Broken yellow center lines mean that passing on the left is allowed in either direction when the way ahead is clear.
#20. DMV demerit points stay on you driving record for:
DMV demerit points remain on your record for two years from the date that you commit the offense. The dates that demerit points are removed from your driving record are not related to the dates that convictions are removed from your record.
#21. When are you allowed to park your vehicle on a crosswalk?
You may not park on a crosswalk.
#22. At a railroad crossing, trains must be given the right-of-way:
Trains do not, and cannot, stop at crossings – they must always be given the right-of-way. Never try to race a train.
#23. What is true about signaling before making a sudden stop?
You must always give a proper signal when turning, changing lanes, stopping, or slowing down. Most vehicles have turn signals and you should always use them. If brake lights or turn signals do not work, the signals must be fixed as soon as possible. Meanwhile, you should use hand signals. Hand signals for stopping and turning are standard in all states.
#24. At a four-way stop, a driver should always yield the right-of-way to:
At four-way stops, the first vehicle to stop should move forward first. If two vehicles reach the intersection at the same time, the driver on the left yields to the driver on the right.
#25. When following another car at 50 mph, which method helps you determine a safe following distance?
When driving at 50 mph, use a four-second rule to determine if you are following far enough behind the vehicle ahead of you.
The Virginia DMV Permit Test
Key numbers for your official two-part Virginia DMV knowledge examination:
|Test Questions:||10 + 25 = 35|
|Correct answers needed:||10 + 20 = 30|
|Passing score:||100% / 80%|
|Earliest retest if you fail:||1-15 days (three failures)|
Virginia Two-Part DMV Test
The Virginia written DMV test for your first learner’s permit or an unrestricted driver’s license is a two-part examination.
On the first part, DMV checks your knowledge of common road signs. They will show you 10 road signs which you must be able to recognize by shape, colors, symbols, or messages. You must have 10 correct answers on this part before you can move on to the second part of the examination.
Check your road sign knowledge here: Virginia highway signs
The second part has 25 multiple-choice questions about Virginia traffic laws, common road rules, and safe driving. On this part, you can miss five questions (20 correct answers), a passing score of 80%.
This Virginia DMV Practice Test
This VA DMV practice test focuses on the second part of the exam.
It has 25 questions spanning from pavement markings and traffic signals to impaired driving and the use of child restraints.
The test is random, which means that it draws question from a larger bank of questions and gives you plenty of opportunities to cover all the important items in the Virginia Driver’s Manual.
After each question, there is an immediate feedback that tells you if your answer is correct or not. At the end of the test, you will see your final score.
Aim for the prefect score of 100% on each practice test.
The Virginia Driver’s Manual
First, a word of warning: don’t rely solely on online practice tests. They can never replace the important information in the Virginia Driver’s Manual.
Get yourself a copy of the manual before you start practicing. It is an important read and a perfect guide when you stumble upon questions you don’t know the answer to.
Remember that Virginia DMV always take the questions on your knowledge exam from this manual. You will not get questions about driving rules that are not described in the manual.
Use practice tests as a study help and a supplement to the manual, not the other way around.
The Real Virginia DMV Written Test
As a teenager, you will most likely take the test as part of your mandatory drivers education course. You can also take the test at any DMV service location.
Virginia DMV does, however, currently not offer the test online from the comfort of your home.
As mentioned, it is a two-part examination. You must pass a road sign test before you can take the 25-question road rules test.
DMV and schools offer the test on a computer. If you have trouble reading, you can ask for audio support and a headset.
Applicants with needs or special help should always let a DMV staff member know before the test start. After you have started the test, DMV staff cannot give you additional explanations or help.
The test is normally available in several languages.
|American Sign Language|
If you fail the test, you must wait 15 days before you can try again – unless you are 18 years or older.
Students who are 18 years may take the test again the next day at an additional testing fee.
If you fail the examination three times, you must complete an 8-hour Driver’s Manual course, either in a classroom or online before you can make a fourth attempt.
Instead of the 8-hour Driver’s Manual course, you can retake (or complete) the classroom component of the driver education course.
Do Not Try to Cheat
The Virginia knowledge examination is a closed book test.
You cannot use the Driver’s Manual, books, notes, a cell phone, or any electronic devices during the exam.
Trying to get help from another person or helping someone during the test is also considered cheating.
If you are found cheating, your test will be terminated.
FAQ – Virginia DMV Test & More
At what age can I get a Virginia Learner’s Permit?
You can submit your application for a learner’s permit when you are 15½ years.
As long as you are under 18 years, you must also provide written consent from one of your parents or your legal guardian unless you are married or emancipated.
At what age can I get a Virginia Driver’s License?
You must be at least 16 years and 3 months to be eligible for a Virginia driver’s license.
Must I take a Driver Education Course to get a permit?
If you are under 18 years, you must always complete a state-approved driver education program.
If you are 18 years or older, you can bypass the driver education program by holding a learner’s permit for at least 60 days before taking the DMV road skills test.
Which Documents do I need to apply for a license or learner’s permit?
As a first-time applicant you must always provide proof of:
- Citizenship or legal presence
- Virginia Residency
You must also provide your Social Security number, if you have one.
If you are under 18 years and not married or emancipated, you must also have written consent from one of your parents or your legal guardian.
It is a good idea to us the interactive document guide at the DMV website to determine which documents you will need to bring to your service office when you apply.
What are the restrictions when I drive with a Virginia learner’s permit?
You cannot drive on your own when you get your Virginia learner’s permit.
You must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years and who is seated beside you. If the supervising driver is your legal guardian, brother, sister, half-brother, half-sister, step-brother or step-sister, they must be at least 18 years.
If you have held a permit for at least nine months and are between 16 years 3 months and 18 years, a driver education certificate and a valid learner’s permit may allow you to drive without a licensed driver beside you. A parent or legal guardian must sign the certificate.
Learner’s permit holders may not carry more than one passenger under 18 years.
You cannot use handheld or hands-free cell phones while driving, unless used for a driver emergency.
How many hours must I practice driving before getting a driver’s license?
While you hold a minor’s permit, you must complete at least 45 hours of driver practice, 15 of which must have been completed during darkness.
You must hold your permit for at least nine months and provide proof of successful completion of the driver education program before you can receive a driver’s license.
How soon must I get a license when I move to Virginia?
You must get a Virginia license within 60 days of moving to the state. If you currently hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL), you must obtain a Virginia CDL within 30 days.
Must I take the written test when I move to Virginia?
DMV will not ask for a knowledge test or road skills test if you hold a valid license from another state or a U.S. territory.
Your out-of-state license cannot be suspended or revoked.
Test requirements can also be waived if you hold a valid license from France, Germany, Japan, or South Korea. DMV will verify the validity of your license with the foreign country prior to issuing you a Virginia driver’s license.
Must I take the written test when I renew my Virginia license?
Normally, Virginia DMV does not ask you to take the knowledge test when you renew your license. A test may, however, be required at renewal at the discretion of DMV personnel.
If you are under 21 years, a test can be mandatory if your record shows one or more convictions for certain offenses.
How often must I renew my Virginia license?
A Virginia license is valid for eight years if you are under 75 years. If you are older, the license must be renewed every fifth year.
Is there a grace period when my license expire?
No, there is no grace period if you let your Virginia driver license expire. Under no circumstances can you drive with an expired Virginia driver license, not even to a DMV location to renew the license.
Must I take the written test if my license was suspended?
A suspension is a temporary withdrawal of your privilege. Normally, your license can be reinstated at the end of the suspension period without any requirements to pass a knowledge test.
Must I take the written test if my license was revoked?
A revocation is the complete termination of your privilege to drive in Virginia. When the revocation period has ended, you must comply with any reinstatement requirements, apply for a new license, and take all applicable knowledge and skills tests again.