#1. For safe driving under poor weather conditions, you must have:
Windshield wiper is required equipment. A bell, siren, or exhaust whistle is not allowed. A red light showing from the front is not allowed.
Mississippi law does not require you to have a rear view mirror, but it is certainly a good idea to have one anyway.
#2. You approach this sign. What should you do?
Traffic signal ahead. Slow down and be prepared to stop, if necessary.
#3. Traffic signs with blue background indicate:
Motorist services signs are white on blue. They direct you to services, such as rest areas, tourist sites, hospitals, hotels, gas stations, eating places, campgrounds or picnic areas. Blue is also used to identify parking spaces for disabled drivers.
#4. What does this sign mean?
Left Turn Only. You must turn left from this lane.
#5. This sign means:
Intersection / crossroads ahead. A road crosses the main highway ahead. Look in all directions for traffic.
#6. When two vehicles from different directions arrive at the same time at a four-way stop, which one must yield?
At four-way stops, the first vehicle to stop should move forward first. When two or more vehicles stop at an intersection at the same time, the vehicle on the right has the right-of-way.
#7. After passing another vehicle and before returning to the proper lane, it is a good rule to:
Do not pull back into the right lane until you are well past the other vehicle. Before moving back into the right lane, make sure that you can see the vehicle in your rearview mirror.
#8. For normal driving, you should hold the steering wheel by:
While you drive, keep both hands on the steering wheel. At least one third of the wheel should separate the hands. To reduce the risk of hand, wrist or arm injury if the airbag is deployed the left hand should be on the wheel at 9:00, as on the face of the clock, with the right hand at 3:00, or slightly lower. Never drive with your elbow resting in the window.
#9. What should you expect ahead when you see a warning sign with arrows in a circle pattern?
Traffic circle / roundabout ahead. This sign indicates that you are approaching a roundabout or circular intersection. When an advisory speed panel is posted below the sign, slow down to the recommended speed.
#10. What should you do if you are involved in a traffic crash and someone is injured?
You must help anyone who has been injured. Depending upon the extent of the injury, assistance in most instances is accomplished by calling for an ambulance. Normally, you should not attempt to move a person who is unconscious or seriously hurt. Do not give an injured person anything to drink.
Immediately give notice to the proper law enforcement authorities if the accident involves injury, death, or apparent property damage exceeding $500.00.
#11. When making a left turn, you should:
Begin turn signal and start slowing down at least 100 feet from the corner.
#12. Smoking marijuana while driving is:
Driving under the influence of marijuana is a crime in Mississippi.
#13. When driving in fog, you should:
When driving in fog, you should always use your low beams. Using high beams in fog reduces visibility. The light reflects back and can blind you.
#14. If your car starts to skid, what is the most common cause?
Skids are mainly caused by drivers traveling too fast for conditions. The best policy is to keep a skid from happening. Slow down to a speed at which you can control the car.
#15. Whenever you stop your car and go into a store to make a quick purchase, you:
To park safely, set the parking brake, turn off the ignition switch, remove the keys, and put the vehicle in low gear if your transmission is standard, and park, if it is automatic. It is also advisable to raise the windows and lock the doors.
#16. What should you do when you approach a railroad crossing?
Always be especially alert at railroad crossings. A warning sign is normally posted from 500 to 900 feet in front of the tracks. It tells you to look, listen, and slow down because you may have to stop.
Railroad crossbuck signs are posted at most crossings. They have the same meaning as yield signs.
#17. When may you drive at the maximum speed indicated by a speed limit sign?
Remember that the posted speeds limits are intended only for the most ideal conditions.
You must adjust your speed according to the situation and conditions.
You must reduce your speed on curves, when approaching intersections, when on a narrow or winding roadway, or when special hazard exists with respect to pedestrians or other traffic. If the weather is poor, slow down accordingly.
#18. Before turning at an intersection, you should signal continuously for at least:
In general, you should signal for at least 100 feet before turning.
By law, you must signal continuously for a reasonable distance before turning.
#19. A shared center lane for turning can be used:
The center lane above is painted to indicate a two-way left turn lane. The turn lane is never used for passing. With arrows pointing left, it should NOT be used for right turns.
#20. It is important that you always allow more space than normal in front of your vehicle when following:
To avoid being in the driver’s rear blind spot, do not follow the vehicle too closely. Instead, position your vehicle so that the professional driver can see your vehicle in his side mirrors.
Drop back far enough so that you can see around a large vehicle.
#21. You near an intersection. The traffic light changes from the green to yellow. What would your best action be?
A solid yellow light means the light will soon turn red. Vehicular traffic facing the signal shall stop before entering the nearest crosswalk at the intersection, but if such stop cannot be made in safety a vehicle may be driven cautiously through the intersection.
#22. You approach a stopped school bus on your side of a divided highway. The bus is displaying alternating flashing red lights. In this situation, you must:
You must stop for a school bus, regardless of your direction, whenever the bus is stopped and receiving or discharging children. You must not proceed until the children have crossed the street or highway and the school bus has resumed motion or the flashing red lights are no longer actuated and the hand-operated stop sign is retracted.
You are not required to stop when the highway that has four lanes or more, and the school bus is on a different roadway.
#23. When preparing to drive, you should:
Adjust your seat to a comfortable position so that you can reach the wheel and pedals easily and have good vision. Fasten your seat belt, and then adjust the rearview mirror so that you can see the roadway behind. If you have a left outside mirror, remember to adjust that too.
#24. Which of the following is the best method to improve safety when driving at night?
At night, visibility is greatly reduced. This makes it necessary to reduce your speed and to exercise caution. You can only see as far as your headlights can reach. Therefore, be careful not to overdrive your headlights – that is, do not so fast that you cannot stop within the distance you can see.
#25. When passing a tractor-trailer, you should avoid:
Do not linger alongside a truck when passing. Always pass a large vehicle completely and always on the left side.
If you linger when passing any vehicle, your position makes it impossible for the trucker to take evasive action if an obstacle appears in the road ahead.
This question asked what you should not do.
The Mississippi Written Knowledge Test
Key numbers for your official knowledge exam in Mississippi:
|Earliest retest if you fail:||1 day (first three)|
What is Mississippi DMV Test Practice?
This Mississippi DMV test practice is a study guide to help you pass the written knowledge test for a learner’s permit or driver’s license. It is based on exam questions and answers and the information in the Mississippi Driver’s Manual published by Driver Services Bureau.
The practice test has 25 random questions drawn from a larger bank of questions, which means that each set will look slightly different.
You can take the test as many times as you want until you feel ready for the real Mississippi DMV (DPS) exam. After each question you will get instant feedback that tells you if picked the right answer or not. When your answer is wrong, there is a short explanation to help you understand the correct answer.
Your score is revealed at the end of the test. Try to reach 100% before you are fully satisfied.
Is it the Same Questions on the Real Test?
Licenseroute.com is not affiliated with Mississippi Driver Services Bureau. There is no access to the real exam questions.
The practice test, however, cover all the important subjects that may show up on your test. But both tests are random, so there is no way of telling which questions you will get on your written exam.
Do I Need the Driver’s Manual?
The Driver’s Manual in Mississippi comes with a fee, even the online version. While some doesn’t feel that the manual is worth the money, it is your best resource when studying for the test.
Practice test should only be used as a supplement to the manual.
Remember, everything on your knowledge exam is from this manual.
How Many Questions are on the Mississippi Written Test?
The official written test in Mississippi has 30 questions, of which you must correctly answer 24; a passing score of 80%. You can miss no more than 6 questions.
What Happens if I Fail the Test?
If you fail the test, you can take it again the next day at the discretion of the examiner.
Should you stumble on the last question, you may want to go back as early as possible. Just remember to read everything more carefully this time.
If you fail early on in the test, you may want to wait more than one day and dig deeper into the manual and take a lot more practice tests to prepare better.
After three failures, you must wait 30 days before you can take it again.
Is the MS Written Test timed?
There is no time limit on the test. You have plenty of time to read everything more than once. Expect the test to take about 15 minutes.
Is the MS Written Test hard?
The failure rate on the Mississippi permit test is among the highest in the country. Surveys also indicate that young test takers in Mississippi are less prepared than their peers in other states.
The test and the Mississippi Driver’s Manual have also been criticized for not being revised to modern standards.
Can I Take the Mississippi DMV Test Online?
No, the Mississippi Driver Services Bureau does not offer online testing from the comfort of your home.
You must take the test at a service office or at a school as part of your driver education.
At What Age Can I Get a Learner’s Permit in Mississippi?
If you are enrolled in a driver education you can apply for a permit when you are 14 years old, it is known as the 14-year-old learner’s permit. It is valid for driving practice as part of your driver education. You can drive only in a school vehicle and only when accompanied by a driver education instructor.
If you are at least 15 years, you can apply for a regular learner’s permit, often referred to as the 15-to-16-year-old permit. You must bring a completed application signed by parents or guardians, a birth certificate, a Social Security card, and proof of school enrollment to a service office. After passing the written driver’s knowledge test and a vision screening, the bureau will issue a learner’s permit.
What are the Restrictions on my MS Learner’s Permit?
With a learner’s permit you cannot drive on your own. The permit can only be used for driving with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and is sitting in the front seat beside you.
You must always carry the permit with you when you drive.
If you are under 17 years, you must hold the permit for at least one year.
What is an Intermediate Driver License?
The intermediate license is the second phase in the Mississippi Graduated Driver Licensing program, which requires that you pass a road skills test.
If you are at least 16 years and have held a learner’s permit for at least 1 year, you may be ready for the practical driving skills test.
You must bring all documents again and pass the vision screening before the skills test. The signatures of your parents or guardians are also required again. If all documents are approved and you pass the skills test, the bureau will issue an intermediate license. This license allows you to practice driving on your own.
You can, however, not drive on your own between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. Sunday-Thursday nights or 11:30 p.m. – 6 a.m. Friday and Saturday nights, except for driving to and from work/school.
You and all passengers must wear seat belts/child restraints while you are driving.
You must hold the intermediate license for at least six months and be at least 16 1/2 years before you can upgrade to a regular license.
At What Age Can I get a Regular MS Driver License?
To get a regular MS license, the bureau must approve all your documents. You must also pass all required examinations and meet the physical requirements.
In addition, you must:
- Be at least 16 years 6 months and have held an intermediate license for at least six months, or
- Be at least 17 years or older, regardless of previous permits or licenses held, or
- Have held an out-of-state driver license for at least six months.
In general, you must also be free of certain convictions.
Must I Take the Knowledge Test a Second Time?
The result of your written knowledge test is valid for two years. If you pass the final driving exam for a regular license within two years, the Bureau will not ask for a second test. But if you wait longer than two years, you must art over and take the test again.