#1. An Alabama learner license expires after:
A learner license is valid for four years.
#2. You are driving on a one-way street. You may turn left onto another one-way street only if:
You may turn left into a left-moving, one-way street if there is no sign to prohibit the turn.
Remember, do not turn against traffic.
#3. Which is true about alcohol?
Alcohol is the most important cause of fatal car accidents. According to Alabama driver’s manual, approximately 50 percent of all fatal crashes involve drivers who have been drinking.
#4. A sign with this shape means:
The pentagon (five-sided) shape marks school zones and warns you about school crossings. Signs may display horizontal lines showing the point at which a crosswalk exists. Signs may have a separate downward-pointing arrow plaque, which indicates the actual location of the crosswalk.
#5. When passing another vehicle, you may exceed the speed limit:
Do not exceed the posted speed limit when passing. It is against the law to exceed posted speeds at any time.
#6. This sign (a steady yellow X) means:
Lane use control signals may be placed over individual lanes of a street, highway or freeway to indicate to drivers which lane(s) they may or may not drive in. A driver facing a steady yellow X is permitted to drive in the lane using caution. Potentially hazardous conditions exist when the steady yellow X is displayed. It is generally a signal for you to change lane, if possible.
#7. When you see this sign, you should:
A stop sign is ahead. Slow down and be ready to stop soon.
#8. The best way to avoid last minute moves when driving is to:
To be a good driver and avoid last-minute moves, you must know what is happening around your vehicle. You must look ahead, to the sides and behind the vehicle. Scanning helps you see problems ahead, vehicles and people that may be in the road by the time you reach them, signs warning of problems ahead and signs giving you directions.
#9. What does Alabama's basic speed law mean?
Speed limits are posted for ideal conditions.
Alabama’s basic speed law states that you must never drive a vehicle at a speed that is faster than reasonable under existing conditions.
Consider road, weather, and your vehicle condition, as well as your own physical condition. What might be a reasonable speed at one time may not be reasonable at another time because of conditions.
#10. What should you do if you approach a fire scene and there is an unprotected fire hose on the road?
Do not drive over an unprotected fire hose unless authorized to do so by a police officer or fire department official.
#11. When leaving a freeway with a deceleration lane:
Move into the deceleration lane and reduce your speed as you prepare to enter the exit ramp. Never reduce speed suddenly on the freeway.
#12. When it is raining or the road is wet, most tires have good traction up to about:
At speeds up to 35 mph, most tires will wipe the road surface, the same way a windshield wiper cleans the windshield. As the speed increases, the tires cannot wipe the road as well and start to ride on a film of water, just like a set of water skis.
#13. If gates rise at a railroad crossing, but the red light is still flashing, you should:
Remain stopped until the gates are raised and lights are no longer flashing.
It is against the law to go around gates.
#14. At an intersection where there are no signs or signals, a driver should always yield the right-of-way to:
When more than one vehicle reaches the intersection at the same time the vehicle on the left must yield the right-of-way and allow the vehicle on the right to go first.
If you enter an uncontrolled intersection at an unlawful speed, you lose any right of way which you might otherwise have.
#15. When passing a motorcycle driving in your lane, you must:
Don’t share the lane with a motorcycle. Motorcycles are entitled to the same full lane width as all other vehicles. A skilled motorcycle operator is constantly changing positions within a lane to maximize being seen, to see the roadway better, and to compensate for objects on or near the road. Drivers should never move into the same lane alongside a motorcycle even if the lane is wide and cyclist is riding far to one side. It is not only illegal, but extremely hazardous.
#16. Consuming alcohol greatly affects your:
Consuming alcohol affects judgment and coordination. It also causes drowsiness, blurred vision, and slowed reflexes.
#17. It is unlawful to park your car:
Parking is not allowed within 30 feet of a stop sign.
#18. What does this sign mean?
No Right Turn.
You must not make a right turn at this intersection. Remember, a red circle with a red slash mark across a symbol indicates that you should not take a certain course of action.
#19. Your car's exhaust contains carbon monoxide, which:
Carbon monoxide is an invisible gas that has no smell, taste or color but is poisonous, even deadly.
Have the exhaust system checked regularly to be sure it does not leak. Do not idle the motor or drive with all the windows closed tightly. Do not warm up the motor while the vehicle is in a closed garage.
#20. The minimum amount your liability insurance must cover against injury or death of one person is:
Liability insurance policies must be issued by insurers licensed to do business in Alabama for no less than:
- $25,000 for death or bodily injury to one person
- $50,000 for death or bodily injury to two or more persons
- $25,000 for damage or destruction of property
#21. When passing a truck, you should pass:
When passing a truck or bus, always try to pass on the left and do it as quickly as possible. Get your vehicle ahead of the vehicle you are passing so the driver can see you. Do not ride alongside a truck or bus.
Do not cut in too quickly after passing a large vehicle. Look for the entire front of the vehicle in your rear-view mirror before pulling in front and do not slow down.
#22. Signaling well ahead of a turn helps other drivers to understand your intentions and gives you the right-of-way:
You must show your intentions to other drivers by using turn signals or hand signals, but remember that a signal does not grant the right to change lanes or give you the right-of-way.
#23. You must use your headlights when other vehicles are not clearly visible from at least the following distance:
Turn on your headlights when you cannot see clearly for at least 500 feet.
#24. What does this sign mean?
Winding road ahead.
The road ahead winds back and forth. Slow to a safe or indicated speed.
#25. When should you use your horn?
It is unlawful to use a motor vehicle horn for any purpose except in giving warning when reasonably necessary to insure safe operation. Needless use of your horn may result in an arrest.
There are several situations when you should not use your horn. They include:
- Announcing arrival or calling your passengers.
- Encouraging someone to drive faster or get out of the way.
- Letting other drivers know they made a mistake.
- Around blind pedestrians.
- Passing bicyclists.
- Approaching horses.
#26. When a conventional rear-wheel drive vehicle starts to skid, you should:
Take your foot off the gas. Avoid braking. Steer in the direction of the skid.
A vehicle skids when its tires lose their grip on the roadway. When your car begins to skid, the engine loses its pulling effect and the brakes lose their effectiveness. The steering wheel also seems to be ineffective.
Remember, a skid occurs when tires lose their grip on the road surface. If this occurs, stay calm. Do not overreact or slam on the brakes.
#27. Which pavement marking separates lanes with traffic going in the same direction?
White lines separate lanes of traffic traveling in the same direction.
#28. If you must brake in an emergency, what determines how far your car will go before you can bring the car to a complete stop?
The process of stopping your car has three main components: perception, reaction and braking (from eye to brain to foot to wheel to road). Perception and reaction can be affected by mental and physical factors such as tiredness, alcohol, fatigue and concentration levels. The braking ability of vehicles can vary widely due to type and condition of the pavement, the type and condition of tires and brakes, chassis design, weight distribution, suspension, and shock absorbers. Wind direction and velocity can also affect your stopping distance.
#29. When a school bus is displaying yellow flashing lights, it tells you:
Flashing amber lights are a pre-warning that the bus is preparing to stop to load or unload children.
In rural areas, the light are used at least 300 feet before stopping and in municipalities at least 100 feet.
#30. You may always continue carefully against a yellow light if:
A steady yellow light means caution. It is a warning to drivers and pedestrians that the green light period is about to end, you must clear the intersection.
Do not enter the intersection, if you can stop safely.
If you cannot stop safely, proceed through the intersection with caution.
Alabama Permit Practice Tests for the Instruction Permit
Key numbers for the official Alabama written test:
|Number of Questions:||30|
|Correct answers needed:||24|
|Passing score:||80 percent|
|Earliest retest upon failure:||0 days (new fee)|
Getting Your First Learner’s Permit
If you are at least 15 years, you can apply for your first Alabama Learner License (a.k.a. Learner’s Permit).
A permit is the first step in the Alabama Graduated Driver License (GDL) program. With the permit you can practice driving together with a supervising parent, legal guardian, or a person who is 21 years and holds an Alabama driver license. You can also drive together with a certified driving instructor. The supervising person must sit in the front seat beside you.
Before Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) issues a Learner License you must pass a vision test and the written knowledge test.
1 Start by Studying the Driver Manual
Questions on the written knowledge exam are taken from the information in the Driver Manual. Everything you must learn to pass the exam is found in this manual.
You should read it and make sure you get a good understanding of Alabama laws, safe driving, common road signs, traffic signals, and what to do in case of an accident.
You can get a copy from Driver License Offices or download a pdf-version online .
You are unlikely to pass the exam without studying the manual, so don’t skip this step. If you fail the test, you must pay the fee and wait in line again.
2 Use Practice Tests – They Help You Learn Faster
Each permit practice test has 30 questions from a large pool of questions. The tests help you prepare for the exam and tell you if you are ready for the real exam or not.
You can take as many practice tests as you want. There are no limits and no fees. Aim for a full score on a handful of practice tests before you attempt the real knowledge examination.
Remember, every attempt requires a new testing fee (currently $5.00).
3 Be Active
Cramming the manual and taking endless practice tests may help you pass the knowledge exam, but it will not help you retain the information at the end of the day.
To be a safe driver you should use a strategy that helps you gain real knowledge that sticks over time. Such a strategy includes a focus on active learning.
By applying new knowledge in your everyday life you stimulate the learning parts of your brain even more. Talk about what you are studying, write about it, relate it to things you already know, and try to apply it to daily situations. [ Read more ]
What is an Alabama Graduated Driver License?
Alabama Graduated Driver License (GDL) is a program that allows young drivers gain driving experience through a step-by-step learning model.
The program has three stages:
Learner License (allows practicing with a supervising driver)
Restricted Driver License (allows driving without supervision but with some restrictions)
Unrestricted Driver License (full driving privileges)
Stage I: The Learner License
You must be at least 15 years old to apply for an Alabama Learner License.
You bring necessary documents that show your full name, date of birth, and social security number. Non-citizens must show proof of legal presence in United States. If you are under 19 years, you must also present a current Student Enrollment/Exclusion Form. You get the form from your school or any driver license office.
At the driver license office, you must pass a vision exam, pay a testing fee, and complete the written knowledge examination. If you pass the examination, you pay a license fee and the examiner issues a learner’s permit.
With the permit you can now practice driving when accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or licensed driver who is at least 21 years old. You may also drive when accompanied by a licensed or certified driving instructor.
When you drive you must always have your Learner License with you and a supervising driver must always sit beside you in a front seat. Under no circumstances many you practice driving without a supervising driver.
You must hold the Learner License at least six months before you can move on to stage II.
Stage II: The Restricted License
You must be at least 16 years old to be eligible for an Alabama restricted driver license.
A parent, grandparent, or legal guardian must approve your application.
To be eligible you must have held a Learner License for at least six months and show a log that certifies that you completed 30 hours of driving or proof of a completed Driver Education Course.
You are now ready for the road skills examination. If you pass, the examiner will issue a restricted driver license.
The restricted driver license will allow you to drive alone but with certain restrictions.
With a few exceptions, you cannot drive alone between midnight and 6 a.m.
You cannot carry more than one passenger in the vehicle who is not a parent, legal guardian, or immediate family member.
The use of any handheld communication devices while driving is also prohibited.
Stage III: The Unrestricted License
An unrestricted or full driver’s license allows you to drive alone without any special restrictions.
You must be at least 17 years old to get an unrestricted license.
If you are 17 years, you must hold a stage II restricted license for at least six months before applying.
If you are 18 years, you can bypass the stage II restricted license requirement.
More about the Alabama Graduated License Program
The program does not apply to individuals who are:
18 years or older
17 years or who have had valid driver licenses for six months or longer
16 years or older who are married and considered the head of household.
legally relieved of minority status (the state or period of being below the legal age).
Frequently Asked Questions about the Permit Test and GDL
The Alabama written test for an instruction permit or driver license has 30 questions. The passing score is 80 percent. You must correctly answer at least 24 questions to pass.
The passing score on the Alabama permit test is 80%. You must correctly answer at least 24 questions on a written test with 30 questions.
The written knowledge test is available in the following languages:
No, ALEA does not allow any online testing from your home. You must visit a licensing office to take the knowledge test.
Alabama does not publish official knowledge test failure rates. Test takers, however, grade the difficulty as moderate to hard.
The 30-question test spans over common road signs, traffic signals, safe driving techniques, impaired driving, accident avoidance, and Alabama licensing laws.
Licenseroute,com has published online practice tests since 2008. Tests are reviewed and updated on a regular basis.
Answers to all questions are found in the Driver Manual and you should always compare the information when in doubt. When new laws are introduced, it may take some time before manual, tests, and practice tests are updated to reflect the changes.
If you find such inconsistency, please let us know.
If you think you are ready to take it again, you can do so the same day depending on availability. You must pay a testing fee ($5) each time you take the test.
If you are applying for a learner license and pass the knowledge test, the examiner will issue your learner license which allows you to start driving together with a supervising driver.
You must be at least 15 years old to apply for the Alabama Learner License (Learner Permit). This license allows you to practice driving together with a supervising driver.
You must be at least 16 years old to be eligible for a restricted Alabama driver license. You must hold a learner license for at least six months (if under 18 years) and pass a road skills test before ALEA issues the license.
No. You may only drive when accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or licensed driver who is age 21 or older and occupying the front seat beside you.
Yes, the restricted license allows you to drive without supervision. You must have permission from parent, grandparent or legal guardian to be eligible for a restricted Alabama driver license.
You cannot drive alone during the hours of midnight to 6 a.m. and you must not drive with more than one passenger in the vehicle other than parents, legal guardians or family members.
You must be at least 17 years old.
At age 17, you must have held a restricted (stage II) license for at least six months before applying.
If you are 18 years or older you can apply immediately for the regular driver license (passing score on road skills exam is required).