Aim for a full score on a handful of tests.
It’s a good idea to try again.
Aim for a full score on a handful of tests.
#1. The following practices are dangerous while driving. Which is also illegal?
Don’t ever text and drive, surf the web or read your email while driving. It is dangerous and against the law in Alaska.
#2. When you arrive at a traffic signal showing a steady red light, you must:
A steady red light means that you must stop.
Right turns are permitted only after a full stop, when the turn can be made safely, and is not restricted by a No turn on red sign.
#3. Under the Alaska point system, your driving privilege will be taken away if you accumulate:
Accumulating 12 points in 12 months or 18 points in 24 months requires the mandatory suspension or revocation of the driving privilege, regardless of the hardships involved.
#4. When are you required to stop at a railroad grade crossing?
You must always stop when there is a visible railroad signal, a crossing gate is lowered, and a traffic-control signal indicate that you must stop, or a human flag person tells you to stop.
#5. What does this sign mean?
No Turn on Red. You may not turn against a red signal where these signs are posted. Wait for the green signal to appear before you turn.
#6. What does this sign mean?
Deer Crossing. Be alert for deer crossing unexpectedly.
#7. When entering or crossing a highway from a private road:
When entering from an alley, driveway or private road, you must stop at a sidewalk, or if there is no sidewalk, at a point prior to entering the roadway.
#8. What is true about side-impact air bags?
Side-impact air bags can provide extra safety benefits to adults in side-impact crashes. Studies have shown that children who are leaning against a side airbag when it inflates are at risk of injury. These studies also show that children who are traveling in an age and weight-appropriate, and correctly installed child restraint system, are not at risk.
#9. Know signs by their shapes. The circular shape is used for:
Circular (round) signs mean you are approaching a railroad crossing.
#10. When driving in fog, you should turn on:
Use low beam (dim) when driving in rain, fog, snow, or dust. High headlight beams reflect rain, fog and snow. This makes it even harder for you to see.
#11. If a yellow center line is solid on your side of the road, it means:
If the solid yellow line is on your side of the road, do not pass. Pass only if there is a dashed (broken) line on your side.
#12. When sharing the road with a motorcyclist it is illegal and extremely hazardous to:
Don’t share the lane with a motorcycle. Motorcycles need a full lane width like other vehicles. A skilled motorcyclist will constantly change positions within a lane to increase their ability to see and be seen, and to avoid objects on the road. Never move into the same lane with a motorcycle, even if the lane is wide and the cyclist is riding to one side. It is not only illegal, it is extremely hazardous.
#13. The best way to drive through a sharp curve is:
If a speed limit is not posted before a curve, you must judge how sharp the curve is and change your speed. Slow down before you enter the curve. Braking and turning at the same time may cause your car to skid.
#14. When are you most at risk of drowsy driving?
You are most at risk when you are sleep deprived, driving long distances without rest breaks or taking medicine that increases sleepiness.
#15. When you park on a hill headed downhill and there is no curb, you should turn your front wheels:
This how you park on hills:
- If you park facing uphill where there is a curb, you should set the parking brake and turn the wheels away from the curb.
- In any other situation turn the wheels toward the curb or edge of the road.
See illustration in the DMV Driver Manual.
#16. If you need to use arm signals, how would you signal a slowdown and stop?
Slowing or stop – left arm extended downward, with palm of hand to the rear.
#17. When making a right turn, you should do all the following except:
You should not drive close to the center divider line or left edge of the road.
When turning right, you must be in the extreme right-hand travel lane or a lane designated for right turns. Signal your turn at least 100 feet ahead.
#18. Which lane is marked as unavailable or closed?
Do not use the lane. Opposing traffic is permitted to use the lane.
#19. The four-second rule is a way for you to determine:
The easiest way to calculate a safe following distance is by the four-second interval method. When towing a trailer or the road surface is wet or slippery, increase the four seconds to six or more.
Remember, a four-second rule does not mean that you are able to stop within four seconds.
#20. When overtaking another vehicle on a two-lane road, you must:
- Signal the intent to pass.
- Pass to the left at a safe distance and return when you are safely clear of the vehicle being overtaken.
- Return when the pass has been safely completed and before coming within 200 feet of any approaching vehicle.
Alaska DMV Practice Tests for Instruction Permits and Licenses
Key numbers for the official Alaska DMV test:
|Number of Questions:||20|
|Correct answers needed:||16|
|Passing score:||80 percent|
|Time limit:||25 minutes|
|Earliest retest upon failure:||next business day|
Retesting next day may be limited.
Unlimited Random Practice Tests
The practice test available at licenseroute.com is random, just like the real exam.
It pulls questions from a large question bank to cover all important items in the practice test for your Alaska knowledge exam. Just like the real DMV written exam, each practice test has 20 questions, and the passing score is reached with 16 correct answers.
You can take the test as many times as you want or need; it will be a new test each time.
Take the practice seriously and aim for a full score on a practice test.
Learn everything described in the Alaska Driver Manual – facts and recommendations are there for a reason. When you make a mistake on the practice test, check the information in the manual.
All answers to test questions are found in the manual.
1 Start by Getting the Driver Manual
The purpose of the real written knowledge test is to make sure that you have learned and understood the information in the manual. Without this knowledge you will be an unsafe driver.
So, start by getting the manual. You can get a copy from a licensing office or just download a copy to your computer, tablet, or smartphone.
Read through the manual a couple of times. Many facts may seem like common sense but can be hard to remember on a test.
Give your brain time to absorb the information. Don’t try to read everything only days before the test.
2 Use Practice Tests Wisely
Practice tests are your way to verify that you understand the information in the manual.
Like all tests, the Alaska written exam will have one or two questions that you didn’t expect or questions that you don’t understand. And you will probably think that they aren’t related to safe driving or traffic laws.
The state wants you to pass, but they also want to make sure that you have read the manual and are serious about your driving. After all, safety on the road is not all about traffic rules, your mindset and attitude also matters.
When you use a practice test wisely, you focus on what kind of questions you see. You read through all choices. Sometimes the wrong choices are just as important to remember as the correct ones.
Don’t answer too quickly (most failures are caused by skipping through the test). 25 minutes is plenty of time.
People who stress themselves to finish early, catch only partial elements without reading the full question or all its choices. It is easy to jump to conclusions when parts of a question look familiar. Don’t fall into this trap.
Practice tests are a good way to learn to pace yourself and find that 25 minutes is more than enough for your exam.
3 Active Learning Methods
Studies show that you do not learn much just by reading the manual and memorizing laws.
To activate the learning parts of your brain, you must talk about what you are studying, write about it, relate it to things you already know, and try to apply it in your daily life. This is especially true when you are studying for a test and something that will be important to you for the rest of your life.
While practice tests are one example of active learning, it can be a good idea to discuss traffic rules with a driver instructor, teachers, parents, and/or friends. Ask questions. Discuss answers.
Look around you in your daily life. Do you recognize all road signs you see? Look at pavement markings, colored curbs, and traffic lights. Yes, you have seen them all before, but maybe not watched them like this?
And watch other drivers in traffic. Are they following the rules? If they don’t, discuss mistakes with parents and/or teachers.
With an active mindset you can learn a lot from your surroundings and quickly become an expert.
What You Need to Know about the Alaska Knowledge Exam
How old must I be to take the Alaska permit test?
If you are 14 years or older, you may apply for the instruction permit.
Before DMV issues the permit, your application must be approved by a parent or legal guardian and you must pass the knowledge test and a vision test.
What is the passing score on the Alaska permit test?
The passing score on the official Alaska permit test is 80 percent. You must correctly answer 16 of 20 questions on the test.
How difficult is the knowledge test?
Alaska DMV does not record or publish failure rates. The knowledge test is, however, generally considered to be one of the easiest in United States, which means that most students pass the exam the first time.
Test takers under 18 years are more likely to fail than older students.
Is the test available in other languages?
No, the test is only available in English. Alaska does not offer the permit test in other languages.
If you cannot read or understand English, contact DMV for guidance.
Is there a time limit on the test?
You have 25 minutes to complete the 20-question test.
The average test taker completes the test in 10-15 minutes, which means that you have plenty of time to carefully read every question and think about the answer.
Some questions may take longer to complete, others will take less than a minute.
Can I take the test from home?
No, Alaska does not offer online testing from your home.
The knowledge test must be taken at a DMV location.
Can I use the manual on the test?
No, it is a closed-book test.
You cannot bring papers or other media, and not use your phone during the test.
What happens if I fail the test?
In normal situations, you can retake the test the following business day.
In case of long waiting times, DMV officials may limit the number of visitors and test takers on one day.
Who must take the Alaska written test?
The written test is required for all applicants not currently licensed in Alaska or whose driving privileges have been expired for over one year, or whose driving privileges have been revoked.
What Happens After You Pass the Alaska Written Test?
DMV issues an instruction permit that is valid for two years.
A special instruction permit may be issued to those persons enrolled in an approved high school, community college, commercial driver training course, or approved medical program.
With the permit you can practice driving together with a licensed driver. The licensed driver must be at least 21 years of age and have at least one year of driving experience for the same type or class of vehicle you are driving.
Note that an instruction permit is required for everyone learning to drive on a street or highway, regardless of age.
You must hold your instruction permit until you are at least 16 years.
The Next Step
The second step in the Alaska Graduated Licensing program is the Provisional License.
If you are under 18 years and getting your first license you must:
hold a permit for at least 6 months before applying
have the approval of a parent or legal guardian
certify at least 40 hours of driving experience (10 hours of inclement weather and nighttime driving)
With the provisional license you may drive alone without a supervising driver. But the license has some restrictions.
You cannot drive between the hours of 1:00 am and 5:00 am
Exceptions apply if you drive to or from your place of employment or within the scope of your employment and if you drive along the most direct route.
You may also drive during this curfew, if you drive accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or a person at least 21 years of age who is licensed to drive the class of vehicle being used.
You cannot drive with any passengers
If you don’t drive together with a parent, legal guardian, or a person at least 21 years of age, you may not carry other passengers than your siblings.
In other words, you cannot drive with friends your own age unless there is an adult 21 years or older in the car.
When are the Restrictions on the Provisional License Lifted?
The provisional license phase lasts a minimum of six months and can remain in effect until you are 18 years.
After six months of conviction free driving and no convictions for illegal use of alcohol or drugs, you can have the provisional restriction removed.
The restrictions can also be removed once you turn 18.