West Virginia Written Test Practice – Questions & Answers

Results

-

Yes, this is a passing score. Do you want to try another test?

Take another test

This is not a passing score. Do you want to try again?

Try another test

#1. When it is safe to do so, a broken yellow center line may be crossed:

Keep to the right of a yellow center line. You may cross the broken line when passing another vehicle or when the right half of the roadway is closed to traffic. But you may only cross when it is safe to do so.

Continue

#2. Unless otherwise posted or required by conditions, what is the minimum speed limit on interstates?

Do not drive slower than 55 mph on an interstate unless the weather or road conditions are bad, or a lower speed has been posted.

Continue

#3. Which road signs have the shape of an upside-down triangle?

The upside-down triangle shape is exclusively used for yield signs. Slow down and, if necessary, stop to give the right of way to vehicles and pedestrians.

Continue

#4. Motor vehicles registered in West Virginia must be inspected each year by:

West Virginia requires a yearly inspection of all vehicles to ensure they are in safe driving condition. Your vehicle must be checked at an inspection station displaying an official state inspection station sign.

Continue

#5. To avoid glare from high-beam headlights of an approaching car:

Looking directly into oncoming headlights causes momentary blindness. When meeting an oncoming vehicle at night, slow down, keep to the right of your traffic lane, and look well in front of your vehicle at the right edge of the road.

Continue

#6. Which color are signs that warns you of possible dangers ahead?

Yellow is used for general warning and advisory of unexpected roadway conditions.

Continue

#7. Parking is never allowed:

Never park in an intersection.

Parking in a disabled person parking space is allowed when you are authorized and display disabled license plate or placard.

Continue

#8. Defensive driving means that you should:

Defensive driving means being prepared through the practice of good driving habits. Be aware of where you are, and pay attention to developing traffic problems. Safety techniques begin the moment you step into the vehicle.

Continue

#9. When are you allowed to cross the median of an interstate highway?

Do not cross the median of interstates at any place. You must use an interchange. The gravel or paved crossovers in the medians of some highways are to be used only by police and emergency vehicles.

Continue

#10. A driver with a level 2 (intermediate) license may drive without supervision between:

Level 2 drivers may drive without a supervising driver between the hours of 5:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m.

Between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. level 2 drivers must drive with a supervising, licensed adult driver who is age 21 or older.

Continue

#11. From top to bottom, traffic lights are:

The correct order is: red, yellow, green.

Continue

#12. What is the main cause of car skids?

Unsafe speed is the most common cause of skidding accidents.

Continue

#13. A fully loaded tractor-trailer, traveling 55 mph, needs:

A fully loaded tractor?trailer, traveling 55 mph, needs three times the distance a car needs to stop.

Continue

#14. When should you use your high-beam headlights?

Use high beams at night on open roads with no streetlights and no oncoming traffic.

You must dim your headlights within 500 feet of an approaching vehicle or when within 200 feet of the vehicle in front of you.

You should also dim your headlights when driving on well-lit streets, and when driving in fog or heavy rain.

Continue

#15. The Implied Consent Law means that you:

If you are arrested for DUI, you are subject to the Implied Consent Law. As a driver, you are deemed to have given consent to take the designated breathalyzer for the purpose of determining alcohol content in your body. If you refuse to take the test, your privilege to operate a motor vehicle will be revoked for a period of one year and up to life.

Continue

#16. How long will points assessed under the state's point system remain on your driving record?

Points remain on your driving record for two years from the conviction date.

Continue

#17. What does this sign mean?

Divided highway ends. The road ahead has two-way traffic.

Continue

#18. At an uncontrolled intersection, a pedestrian has entered the crosswalk. In this situation, you should:

You must yield to pedestrians in a crosswalk, or when they are crossing a sidewalk that crosses an alley entrance or driveway. Always yield to pedestrians before making a turn.

Drivers must use extreme care to avoid colliding with a pedestrian, especially in areas where special hazards exist, such as school zones, bus stops, playgrounds, and parks.

Continue

#19. It is important that you always allow more space than normal in front of your vehicle when following:

Since motorcycles do not operate and perform the same way as vehicles, you should be careful when following or passing a motorcycle. Stay farther back than if you were behind a vehicle. The motorcycle can usually slow or stop much faster than you can.

Continue

#20. When turning left from a two-way street onto a one-way street, you should complete the turn in:

Turn from the lane that is closest to the direction you want to go and turn into the lane closest to the one you came from. Compare illustrations in Driver’s Handbook.

Continue

#21. If your vehicle has an Anti-Lock Brake System (ABS) and you need to stop quickly, you should:

Use brakes properly, brake smoothly using steady pressure. In a vehicle equipped with anti-lock brakes, you maintain the ability to steer while braking. However, in a vehicle without anti-lock brakes you cannot steer unless you pump the brakes, applying and releasing them several times until you have the vehicle under complete control.

Continue

#22. On which side should you pass a barricade with this panel?

Stripes on barricades and panel devices slope downward in the direction traffic must travel.

Stripes sloping downward to the left means the driver should bear to the left. Stripes sloping downward to the right means the driver should bear to the right.

Continue

#23. When an emergency vehicle with flashing red lights approaches from the other direction, you must:

You must yield to any emergency vehicle (ambulance, fire, or police vehicle) that is sounding a siren and flashing warning lights. Pull over to the right edge of the road, clear of the intersection, and stop until the emergency vehicle has passed. Keep your foot on the brake so the emergency driver knows you are stopped. Watch for other emergency vehicles before proceeding.

Do not block intersections.

Continue

#24. This sign is:

This is a regulatory Speed Limit sign. It shows the minimum speed you are allowed to travel.

Continue

#25. What does this road sign mean?

Warns you of hills where special care must be taken. Slow down before you start downhill.

See result





The West Virginia Written Knowledge Test

Key numbers for your official knowledge examination in West Virginia:

Test Questions: 25
Correct answers needed: 19
Passing score: 76%
Time limit: 18 minutes
Earliest retest if you fail: 7 days

West Virginia Written Test Practice - Photo by William Fortunato

Get Ready for the West Virginia DMV Test

This practice test will help you prepare for the West Virginia DMV Test and pass the examination on your first try.

Yes, it is possible to pass the driver’s knowledge examination on your first try despite the estimated 30% first time fail rate.

In short, you will have 18 minutes to complete 25 multiple-choice questions. You must correctly answer 19 questions; a passing score of 76%, which is slightly lower than the average of 80% in other states.

Your route to success has two corner stones, the Licensing handbook and multiple practice tests.

Plan to work on both during a period of at least one week.



1   The Licensing Handbook

Get a copy of the West Virginia Driver’s Licensing Handbook.

The handbook is usually updated once every year, so make sure you have the latest version. Even if rules and questions on the test don’t change very often, you want to be updated on the latest information from West Virginia DMV.

If you are comfortable reading the book on your computer, tablet, or phone, you can download a PDF-version from the DMV website .

The handbook is an easy read, even if you should expect the reading time to be about six hours.

The book doesn’t give you any hints on what questions you should expect on the test. In fact, many details are mentioned just briefly and are easy to miss. That is why you need the practice test.

2   The Practice Test

This West Virginia practice test has 25 random questions drawn from a large pool of exam questions. It will look different each time you start over.

You can take test as often as you need to prepare for the exam.

It will cover all the important items from the licensing handbook.

Instant feedback will tell you if your answer is correct or not. Short explanations will help you understand the correct answers.

It is designed for West Virginia, which means that you study the items that West Virginia DMV may add to your knowledge exam.

Remember that the practice test is intended as a learning tool. You should not use it instead of reading the handbook. You need to work with both.

3   Review Your Wrong Answers

When you miss a question on the practice test, you should pay extra attention to that question.

Ask yourself why you missed it. Lack of knowledge? Was it something you skipped in the handbook? Or did you simply not read the question carefully enough?

You will learn a lot from your mistakes if you focus on why you made them.

Encourage yourself to give it time, think through each question, and work on expanding your knowledge. Try to think beyond the examination.



About the test - Photo by Andrea Piacquadio

What You Should Know about the Exam

You are expected to complete the knowledge exam within 18 minutes.

If you have prepared with our practice test, you will finish the examination in 5-10 minutes. Just be sure to read all questions at least twice. Don’t rush through the test.

If think you have a problem with understanding text by just reading, ask for a test with audio support. The examiner will lend you a headset if you ask for it.

WV DMV does not offer any kind of oral test. Employees of the DMV are not allowed read the questions to you, re-word the information, or provide additional help explaining questions on the test.

If you have trouble understanding English, the West Virginia test is also available in Hindi, Spanish, and Vietnamese. For other languages you are allowed to bring an interpreter.

Sign language interpreters is provided by DMV.

It is a closed book test, so you cannot bring the handbook or any notes when taking the test. No cell phones, PDA, blue-tooth devices, electronic devices, or similar will be permitted.

Is the West Virginia Permit Test Hard?

Even with a low passing score, the failure rate in West Virginia is around 30%. The difficulty level is graded “moderate”.

We believe that one reason is the use of outdated practices where more than one answer can be correct, which is the case when “All of the above” is one of the correct answers.

But the main reason for test takers to fail the exam is lack of preparations.

If you fail the West Virginia knowledge test, you must wait one week before you are allowed to try again. You must also pay the test fee ($7.50) for each attempt.

Moderate - DMV Test difficulty grading by licenseroute

Can I take the West Virginia Permit Test online?

Since 2021, DMV offers the knowledge examination online from your home.

It is not necessary to apply at a DMV office before the online test. Just register online, accept the terms, and pay the testing fee.

After you have passed the test, you visit your nearest DMV office with all your documents, and DMV will issue the permit.

If you are under 18 years, you must have a sponsor who supervises you during the test. The supervising adult must at least 18 years of age and have a valid driver’s license from a U.S. state. The identity of the supervising adult will be validated during the registration process. It will most likely be your parent or guardian, even if that isn’t necessary.

You cannot take the online test on a wireless phone.

Photo Credits

  About the test – photo by Andrea Piacquadio
  Cover photo by William Fortunato.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments