Colorado Driver License and Permit Practice Tests

Results

-

#1. Whenever you come to a curve where you cannot see around it, you should adjust speed:

HIlls and curves can hide obstructions in the road, even on roads you are familiar with. Be prepared to stop when approaching a curve or hill that obscures your view of the road.

Continue

#2. The following are true about motorcyclists and motorists, except:

Remember, motorcycles are smaller and harder to see.

Continue

#3. When alcohol is consumed with food:

All the alcohol consumed eventually gets into the blood whether you have eaten or not. Food can slow down the absorption of alcohol. Drinking on a full stomach prevents large amounts of alcohol from going to your brain immediately.

Continue

#4. When approaching a stopped school bus with flashing red lights traveling in the opposite direction on a four-lane roadway without median separation, you must:

You must stop your vehicle at least 20 feet before reaching a school bus that is stopped with its red lights flashing whether it is on your side of the road, the opposite side of the road, or at an intersection you are approaching.

You are not required to stop if the bus is traveling toward you on a roadway that is separated by a median or other physical barrier.

Continue

#5. When may you legally drive around a lowered gate at a railroad crossing?

Obey all warning devices, lights, gates and signs. Gates are used with flashing light signals at certain crossings. Never cross until the gates are raised and the lights have stopped flashing. It is dangerous and against the law.

Continue

#6. When two vehicles from different directions arrive at the same time at an intersection where there are no signs or signals, which one should yield?

When more than one vehicle reaches the intersection at the same time the vehicle on the left must yield the right-of-way and allow the vehicle on the right to go first.

Continue

#7. If a collision with a wild animal is inevitable, you should:

The size of these animals may cause the motorist to take drastic evasive action to prevent a collision. This may result in a more serious crash than if the vehicle collided with the animal. Regretfully, the safest alternative may be hitting the animal. Brake and concentrate on retaining control of the vehicle before, during and after the collision with the animal.

Continue

#8. An adult Colorado driver's license is normally valid for:

An adult license expires on the birthday 5 years from the year of issue.

Continue

#9. You can park your car:

Parking five inches from a sidewalk is allowed.

It is forbidden to stop or park a vehicle on a crosswalk, bridge, elevated structure, and blocking a driveway.

Continue

#10. If you are in a roundabout when an emergency vehicle with flashing lights approaches from behind, you should:

If you are within an intersection, including a roundabout, drive through the intersection before you pull over.

Remember, you must stop clear of any intersection, and remain stopped until the emergency vehicle has passed.

Continue

#11. A large truck is turning right onto a street with two lanes in each direction. The truck:

Because of their size trucks often need to move to the left lane to make right turns (the rear wheels follow a shorter path than the front wheels). Cutting in between the truck and the curb or shoulder increases the possibility of a crash.

Continue

#12. Signaling when suddenly slowing down or stopping is:

Signaling when suddenly slowing down or stopping is required by law.

No driver of a motor vehicle or moped shall stop or suddenly decrease speed substantially without displaying a stop signal (7-4-28).

Continue

#13. After passing a car and before returning to your lane, you should:

Return to the driving lane when you can see both headlights of the other vehicle in your inside rear view mirror.

Continue

#14. Compared to daytime, what is true about excessive speed at night?

Excessive speed is more dangerous at night because of limited visibility. Remember, drive more slowly at night because you cannot see as far ahead and you will have less time to stop for a hazard. Always make sure you can stop within the distance lighted by your headlights.

Continue

#15. When can you drive at night with just your parking lights on?

Whenever it is necessary to drive with your lights on, you must use your headlights. Do not drive with your parking lights.

Continue

#16. When making a left turn from the lane closest to the center, you should:

Complete your turn in the lane closest to you on your side of the street. Always follow the solid white lines in intersections using multiple turn lanes.

Continue

#17. Driving a vehicle equipped with anti-lock brakes allows you to:

If you have ABS, you can turn your vehicle while braking without skidding. This is very helpful if you must turn and stop or slow down.

Continue

#18. A blind spot is the area of the road:

Look over your shoulder to check your blind spot, which is the area slightly to the rear and side of your vehicle that you cannot see in your mirrors.

Continue

#19. If a traffic signal light is not working, you should proceed as if the intersection is, in all directions, controlled by:

If the traffic signal is not operating or is malfunctioning, treat the intersection as a four way stop. Do not proceed until it is safe.

Continue

#20. White lines separate traffic:

White lines separate lanes of traffic moving in the same direction. Broken white lines mean you may change lanes if it is safe. A solid white line means you should stay within the lane. A solid white line also marks the shoulder of the roadway.

Continue

#21. What does this sign mean?

No Left Turn.

You must not make a left turn at this intersection.

Continue

#22. What does this sign mean?

Reverse curves (double curve / curvy road). The road will curve to the right, then to the left. Slow your speed, keep to the right, and do not pass.

Continue

#23. What does this sign mean?

Added lane sign. Two roadways come together, but you are not required to merge.

Continue

#24. What does this sign mean?

A stop sign has eight sides and is red with white letters. It means you must come to a complete stop. Stop at the marked stop line or, if none, at the point just before the intersecting street. If there is a crosswalk, you must come to a complete stop before entering it. You may proceed only after yielding to all pedestrians and vehicles.

Continue

#25. Most regulatory road signs are:

Regulatory sign tell you of laws and regulations that apply at a location. They are normally black or red on a white background. Failure to obey these signs is a traffic violation.

See result





Colorado DMV Knowledge Test

Quick facts for your Colorado driver license and permit test:

Number of Questions: 25
Correct answers needed: 20
Passing score: 80 percent
Time limit: None
Earliest retest upon failure: 1 day

Prepare for the Colorado Permit Examination

The permit examination has 25 multiple-choice and true-or-false questions. You need 20 correct answers to pass the examination (80%).

Your test questions are randomly picked from a larger group of questions, which means that you don’t know which questions you will get. The more you practice, the better chances you have of passing the test the first time.

If you fail the knowledge examination, you can try again the next business day. With just minor errors, that may be an acceptable strategy, but having 6 or more errors on the test means you missed a large portion of the exam. It is perhaps better to wait a few more days and read the Driver Handbook again.

Everything you need to learn for the exam is in the handbook, so don’t forget to get a hard copy or download the PDF file   to your computer or smartphone.

This Colorado driver license test has 25 questions, just like the real permit exam. It covers everything you need to learn to pass.

Practice tests should always be an additional learning tool when preparing for the permit test, not a replacement for the handbook. Some websites suggest that you can pass the test by just studying practice tests and cheat sheets, which is a bad strategy. Use both sample tests and the handbook, and you will have a much better chance of passing your examination the first time.

Read more about risky study tactics that could cause you to fail

Is the Colorado DMV Permit Test Hard?

Moderate - DMV Test difficulty grading by licenseroute

The latest numbers show that almost one third of all test takers fail the examination. It means that the difficulty is moderate to hard.

It is, however, suggested that the test has become easier in recent years.

Colorado Instruction Permit – Under 18 years

These are the requirements to get your first permit as a teenager:

  Be at least 15 years
  Present a completed “Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship”
  Prove full legal name, age, identity, and Colorado residency
  Prove lawful presence in United States (if applicable)
  Pass a vision exam
  Pass the written knowledge exam

  Additional Requirements for permit issuance at 15 years to 16 years:

Permit issued at 15-15 1/2 years, license at 16-16 1/2 years:

  • 30-hour driver’s education course completed within six months prior to permit issuance
  • 6 hours behind the wheel training with an instructor after permit issuance

Permit issued at 15 1/2-16 years, license at 16 1/2-17 years:

  • 4-hour classroom driver awareness program completed within six months prior to permit issuance



Colorado Instruction Permit – 18 years or older

These are the requirements to get your first permit as an adult:

  Be at least 18 years
  Prove full legal name, age, identity, and Colorado residency
  Prove lawful presence in United States (if applicable)
  Pass a vision exam
  Pass the written knowledge exam

After You Pass the Knowledge Examination

After you have provided the necessary documents and passed both the vision exam and the knowledge test, you may start practice driving.

If you are under 18 years, you can drive with a licensed driving instructor or any licensed adult 21 years or older. You must complete and log 50 hours of driving time, of which 10 hours must be at night. Note that only the person who sign the affidavit can certify your driving log.

Your First Colorado Driver License – Under 18 Years

These are the requirements to get your first Colorado driver license as a teenager:

  Hold your permit for at least 1 year
  Provide a certified log of at least 50 hours driving practice
  Pass the vision exam (again)
  Successfully pass driving test

Colorado Driver License

Your First Colorado Driver License – 18 years or older

These are the requirements to get your first Colorado license as an adult:

  Pass the vision exam (again)
  Successfully pass driving test

If you are 18 years or older, there is no minimum time you must hold your permit before you can apply for a driver license.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments