Texas DMV Written Knowledge Test Practice – Permit Test 2021

Results

-

This is a passing score. Do you want to try again?

Try again

This is NOT a passing score. Do you want to try again?

Try again

#1. You approach this road sign. What should you do?

This sign tells you to stay in the right-hand lane if you are driving slower than other vehicles on the road.

Continue

#2. Texas Basic Speed Law means:

The Basic Speed Law means that you may not drive faster than is safe and prudent for existing conditions, regardless of posted speed limits.

For example, if you are driving 45 mph in a 55-mph speed zone during a dense fog, you could be cited for driving too fast for conditions.

Regardless of the posted speed limit, your speed should depend on things like:

  • The number and speed of other vehicles on the road.
  • Whether the road surface is smooth, rough, graveled, wet, dry, wide, or narrow.
  • Bicyclists or pedestrians walking on the road’s edge or crossing the street.
  • Whether it is raining, foggy, snowing, windy, or dusty.
Continue

#3. A truck's blind spots:

Trucks and buses have large blind spots to the front, sides, and rear of the vehicle. Avoid following too closely, and position your vehicle so the truck or bus driver can see your vehicle in the side view mirror.

Continue

#4. Penalties for driving around a barricade that has been placed at a location where water is over any portion of a road include:

It is a violation to disobey the instructions, signals, warnings, or markings of a warning sign, or to drive around a barricade. The offense is a Class B misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $2,000 and/or up to 180 days in jail when a warning sign or barricade has been placed at a location where water is over any portion of a road, street, or highway.

Continue

#5. At a four-way stop, a driver should always yield the right-of-way to:

At a four-way stop, you must yield the right-of-way to the driver who is at or arrives before you at the intersection. If both of you arrive at the intersection at the same time, you must yield to the driver on your right.

Continue

#6. If you feel drowsy on a long trip, you should:

A condition of drowsiness or unawareness can be brought on by reduced activity and steady sounds of wind, engine, and tire hum. This is known as highway hypnosis. All drivers should be aware of its danger and of the methods for fighting it. Stop often. Even if you are feeling well you should stop at least every two hours or every 100 miles. If you become tired or sleepy while driving, it is always best to rest, or change drivers.

Continue

#7. You approach this barricade at night. You must:

The diagonal stripes on the barricade or vertical panel guide the driver towards the direction to where the traffic is to pass. Stripes sloping downward to the left mean the driver should bear to the left.

Continue

#8. What does this sign mean?

You are near a school. Slow down, and prepare to stop suddenly if necessary. Watch for children.

Continue

#9. What can you do to avoid road rage?

Always remember to drive friendly. Never try to out-maneuver aggressive drivers, insist on the right-of-way, tailgate, honk your horn, confront other drivers, or make obscene gestures.

Continue

#10. A car passenger six years of age must:

Children who are under 8 years of age and less than four feet and nine inches in height (regardless of age) are required by law to be secured in a safety seat if occupying a seat in a vehicle equipped with a safety belt.

Children who are at least 8 years of age but under 17 years of age or who are under 8 years of age but taller than four feet and nine inches in height must be secured in a safety belt if occupying a seat in a vehicle so equipped.

Continue

#11. Which is one factor that greatly affects your stopping distance?

The process of stopping your car has three main components: perception, reaction, and braking. This is usually referred to as total stopping distance. The first two components can be affected by human factors such as tiredness, alcohol, fatigue, and concentration levels. The last component depends on factors such as: tires, brakes, road, and weather conditions.

Continue

#12. What does this sign tell you?

Use extreme caution to avoid running off the paved portion of the highway, because the dirt on the side of the pavement is soft and may cause you to lose control of the car.

Continue

#13. Passing another vehicle by driving on the left side of the road is not allowed:

Never drive on the left side of the road when:

  • Pavement markings prohibit driving on the left (no passing zone).
  • There are two or more traffic lanes in each direction.
  • Within 100 feet of or crossing an intersection or railroad crossing.
  • On a hill, curve, or any other place where vision is limited.
  • Within 100 feet of a bridge, viaduct, or tunnel.
Continue

#14. What is the meaning of this sign?

The side road sign tells you that there is an intersection ahead. Another road enters the road you are traveling on from the direction shown. Watch out for traffic entering from the side road and oncoming traffic turning.

Continue

#15. If you have a flat tire or blowout while driving, you should take your foot off the gas pedal and:

If you have a flat tire or a blowout, do not slam on the brakes. Take your foot off the gas and gently apply the brakes. Steer straight ahead to a stop or until your vehicle is under complete control. Move slowly and safely off the road. Do not stop on the road if at all possible.

Continue

#16. Lane-hopping or weaving in and out of traffic:

Remember, weaving in and out of traffic is dangerous, annoys other drivers, and increases the risk of collision.

Stay in the middle of your lane. Maintain a constant speed. Keep pace with the traffic. Do not unnecessarily speed up and slow down.

Continue

#17. During an enforcement stop by a police officer, you should:

If you are stopped by law enforcement it is suggested you:

  • Move the vehicle safely to the right of the road as soon as possible and stop.
  • Place the vehicle in a parking position, set the emergency brake, turn the engine off, and activate the hazard warning lights.
  • Remain in the car, lower the driver’s window, and wait for the law enforcement officer to give instructions.
  • Keep your hands in clear view.
  • Follow the instructions of the law enforcement officer.
  • Require passengers to remain in the car unless other instructions are given by the law enforcement officer.
  • Give the appropriate signals and safely return to the proper lane of traffic when released by the law enforcement officer.
Continue

#18. What is true about a center left turn lane?

The center lane is only used for vehicles turning left, not for passing or overtaking. The only time a vehicle should enter the center lane is at a point where the vehicle will have time to slow down or stop to make a safe left turn. This lane should never be used for passing or as a through traffic lane.

This lane is marked on each side by solid yellow and broken yellow lines.

Continue

#19. When are you required to stop at a railroad grade crossing?

You must stop at a railroad grade crossing if:

  • A clearly visible railroad signal warns of the approach of a train.
  • A crossing gate is lowered, or a flag person warns of a train.
  • An approaching train within about 1,500 feet of the crossing produces an audible signal and is an immediate hazard.
  • An approaching train is visible and in unsafe proximity to the crossing.
Continue

#20. The first thing affected after drinking alcohol is your:

You lose your judgment when you drink or use drugs which affect how you react to sounds, what you see, and the speed of other vehicles around you. It is often the first thing about you that changes.

Continue

#21. When a traffic signal is showing a flashing red light, you must:

A flashing red traffic light has the same meaning as a stop sign. Stop completely before entering the crosswalk or intersection then proceed when you can do so safely. Vehicles on the intersecting road may not have to stop.

A green signal will not appear.

Continue

#22. This sign added to a stop sign means:

4-way or all-way signs are added to a stop sign advising that all approaching traffic to this intersection must stop.

Continue

#23. The best practice for a beginning or less experienced driver is to always keep a following interval of at least:

Developing a four-second following interval is the best practice for a beginning or less experienced driver

Continue

#24. A protected left turn is made:

A protected left turn is a left turn made on a left-turn, green arrow, or delayed green light while oncoming traffic is stopped by a red light.

The green arrow means the driver can proceed carefully in the direction of the arrow after yielding the right-of-way to other vehicles and pedestrians.

Continue

#25. To avoid glare from high-beam headlights of an approaching car:

Avoid looking directly into the headlights of approaching vehicles. Shift your eyes down to the lower right side of your traffic lane.

Continue

#26. What does this sign indicate?

One way. These signs are used on one-way streets or driveways. If you wish to turn at an intersection where this sign is posted, do so only in the direction indicated by the arrow. Do not turn against the arrow.

The sign does not indicate that you must turn.

Continue

#27. If your vehicle begins to hydroplane, you should:

Hydroplaning occurs when a tire patch loses contact with the road by rising up on top of water. Avoid hydroplaning by slowing down when the road is wet. Also, check the tires. Poor tires are dangerous. The risk of hydroplaning increase with increased speed.

If you lose traction, take your foot off the gas, do not apply the brakes, maintain the direction of the vehicle, and allow the vehicle to slow to a manageable speed.

Continue

#28. If you cannot get into the proper lane within one-half block before an intended turn at an intersection, you should:

Move into the proper lane as soon as possible. The faster the traffic is moving, the sooner you should move into the proper lane. If you cannot get into the proper lane within one-half block before turning, do not turn, continue straight ahead.

Continue

#29. On cold, wet days, which of the following roadways is most likely to hide spots of ice?

There may be ice on bridges when the rest of the pavement is clear.

Continue

#30. When parking close to a stop sign you must keep this distance:

The distance you must keep from a stop sign is more than 30 feet.

See result





The Texas DMV Written Knowledge Test

Key numbers for the official learner’s permit and driver license written test in Texas:

Test Questions: 30
Correct answers needed: 21
Passing score: 70%
Time limit: No
Earliest retest if you fail: Next day

Texas Written Test Practice - Photo by William Fortunato

About This Written Test Practice

This written test practice id designed exclusively to help you pass the Texas knowledge examination for a learner’s permit or full driver’s license.

It is a random practice test with 30 question from a large pool of test questions and answers. You can take the test several times and expect a different test each time.

After each question you will get instant feedback that tells you if your answer is correct or not. There are also brief explanations to help you understand the correct answer. At the end of the test you will see your score.

The real Texas permit test has a passing score of 70% (21 correct answers). On the practice test, you should try to reach a score of 100% on a handful of tests. It gives you a good margin on the real examination.

The test is completely free, and no registration is necessary.




Houston - Photo by Trace Hudson

The Real TX DPS Examination

If you are enrolled in an authorized driver education course, you can generally take the written test as part of your education.

You can also visit a DMV Driver Licensing office and take the test.

Texas DMV does not offer online testing from your home. So, this practice test is not an official test that entitles you to a learner’s permit or Texas driver license. As you probably already understand, Licenseroute.com is not affiliated with Texas DPS.

When you take the test, you will get 30 random test questions. To pass, you must answer at least 21 questions correctly.

You can skip questions that you aren’t sure about (no more than 9). If you don’t reach 21 correct answers on the remaining questions, the skipped ones will return at the end, but if you reach the passing score of 70%, you will never see the skipped questions again. The test ends after 21 correct answers.

Should you miss the target of 70% and fail the exam, you can take it again the next day. You can make three attempts within a 90-day window. If you fail a 4th time or exceed the 90-day limit, you must submit a new application and pay the fee again.

Texas written tests are only available in English and Spanish. If you speak Spanish, you must understand enough English to recognize the meaning of some of the road signs.

Interpreters are allowed, but not paid for by Texas DMV.

You cannot bring books, manuals, papers, or electronic devices to the testing area.



Must I Take a Driver Education Course to Get a Driver License in Texas?

Yes, all first-time applicants under 25 years must complete a driver education course before Texas DMV issues a permit or driver’s license.

You have these options:

  Enroll in a driver education school
  Enroll in a parent taught driver education course with an approved parent taught course provider
  Complete driver education at a public school, education service center, college, or university

The classroom phase of any driver education course must consist of at least 32 hours (which much stretch over at least 16 days). The course must also contain at least 7 hours of behind-the-wheel driving and 7 hours of in-car observation.

Before DMV issues your initial learner license, you must complete the first six hours of the driver education classroom instruction (concurrent method) or all 32 hours (block method).

Make sure you have your certificate of completion (DE-964) before applying for your learner license.




Is the Texas License Test Hard?

Texas DMV does not share failure rates on the written knowledge test. Estimates suggest that only one out of four (25%) first-time test takers fail the Texas written examination, which makes the exam one of the easiest to pass.

Easy - DMV Test difficulty grading by licenseroute

Our surveys also show that very few of our users fail the test. But if you DO fail, don’t give up. With just some more practice and help from a driving instructor, parent, or friend, you can nail it. Just avoid some of the worst study tactics !

Even if the Texas Driver Handbook is a tedious read, you should consider it your best friend. Everything you need to learn is found in this handbook.


Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments