Our Practice Tests
South Carolina practice tests have been updated.
Driver’s prep now offers more than 500 questions based on the South Carolina Driver’s Manual. It covers all different areas from the manual and should help you pass the written knowledge test the first time. No other site offers this variety of questions for free.
All tests are random and we don’t require any sign-up or valid e-mail address. Just click and go.
The Knowledge Test
The real South Carolina written knowledge test will have questions regarding driving rules, laws and regulations, safe driving practices, and highway signs. You find all information needed for the test in the South Carolina Driver’s Manual.
You may take the knowledge test at any DMV office that provides full driver license services for classes D, G, and M.
The knowledge test is required when you apply for an original license or upgrade to a different class of license.
The manual or other testing aids can’t be used while taking the knowledge test. Tests will be treated as a failure if a handbook or other types of testing aids are used during the test. If you are caught using a cell phone, using a camera device or found talking to others during the test, you will also fail the test.
The Road Test
To make the road test, you should schedule an appointment. Appointments are available Monday through Friday, 2:00-4:30 p.m. in all DMV offices.
To make an appointment, call the office and leave a voice-mail message with your name and phone number. DMV staff will return their call within one business day.
DMV accepts walk-in customers from 8:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. However, during the afternoon hours, 2:00-4:30 p.m., DMV will not accept walk-in road test applicants unless the office has a cancellation. Customers who arrive late 10 minutes or more for an appointment could lose their scheduled appointment time to a walk-in customer.
To get a Class D Beginner’s Permit:
- You must be at least 15 years old.
- You must bring your birth certificate, social security card, proof of residency and insurance information.
- If you are under 18 years of age, you must bring your parent or legal guardian with you to sign your application.
- You must pass the vision and knowledge tests.
Moving to S.C.
If you move to South Carolina from another state and have a valid driver’s license, you can use it for 90 days. After 90 days you must surrender it and obtain a South Carolina driver license. You are not required to take the knowledge test.
If you own any vehicles they must also be registered in South Carolina. You have 45 days to transfer your out of state vehicle registration.
Read more about the South Carolina Practice Tests here: South Carolina