New Hampshire Written Knowledge Test for Your Driver License

Results

-

You got a passing score. Can you do it again?

Take another test

You did not get a passing score. Please try again.

Take another test

#1. If you drive past this sign:

The Wrong Way sign is a supplement to the Do Not Enter sign. It is placed along the exit ramp or the one-way roadway farther from the crossroad. It tells you that you have already entered a one-way road and are driving in the wrong direction.

If you find yourself going the wrong way on a ramp, you should pull onto the shoulder, stop, and only turn around when there is no oncoming traffic.

Continue

#2. When is it important to turn on your headlights?

New Hampshire law requires drivers to turn on their headlights during the period from half hour after sunset, to half hour before sunrise. For the safety reasons, drivers should use headlights to help other roadway users to see the vehicle when it is raining, snowing or foggy. Headlights must be on whenever rain, snow, or fog shall interfere with the proper view of the road so that persons and vehicles on the way are not clearly discernible at a distance of 1,000 feet ahead.

Continue

#3. What is true about seat belts?

If you were struck from the side, the force could push you across the seat. Belts and straps keep you behind the wheel so you can control the vehicle.

Continue

#4. If a school bus with flashing red lights has stopped on your side of an undivided highway with two lanes, you must:

Drivers must stop at least 25-feet in any direction for a school bus that is stopped with its red lights flashing and/or the stop arm extended at all times unless the roadway is separated by a physical barrier. Drivers shall remain stopped until the school bus resumes motion or until the flashing red lights cease to operate. Proceed slowly while always watching for children.

Continue

#5. Compared to other highway users, motorcyclists:

Motorcyclists have the same rights and responsibilities on public roads as other highway users.

Continue

#6. When making a left turn, you should:

Before turning, drivers should:

  • Search all corners for traffic controls, pedestrians, other vehicles, etc. and signal intentions.
  • Enter and maintain proper position in the lane that is closest to the direction they want to go.
  • Look through the turn to the farthest point possible along the intended path.
  • Accelerate smoothly to appropriate speed, make sure turn signal is cancelled and check traffic to the rear.

When making a left turn yield to oncoming traffic. Always turn left from the left-most portion of the lane.

Drivers should signal at least 100 feet before a turn.

Continue

#7. What is the best thing to do if you start to feel tired while driving?

Never drive if you are sleepy. Before getting too tired, stop driving, pull off at the next exit or rest area to take a 15-to-20-minute nap or find a place to sleep for the night.

Continue

#8. As you approach the top of a hill where your view is blocked, you should:

When your view is blocked by a curve or a hill, you should slow down, move to the right side of the road, and watch for oncoming vehicles. Do not attempt to pass .

Continue

#9. A solid green signal means:

This means a driver may go through the intersection and if it is clear to do so, proceed with caution. Drivers must yield to pedestrians and vehicles in an intersection.

Continue

#10. In this picture, car A may pass the vehicle ahead:

Yellow lines mean the lanes of traffic are moving in opposite directions. You may pass over any broken (dotted) lines when it is safe to do so. You must not pass if the line on your side is solid.

Continue

#11. If you approach a fire emergency site where a fire truck has stopped, it is unlawful to:

Drivers must not follow a fire truck closer than 500 feet when it is sounding a siren or operating flashing lights. Drivers must not drive or park a vehicle within the block where the fire truck has stopped to answer a fire alarm.

Continue

#12. What is the meaning of this sign?

There is a traffic signal ahead. The sign is an example of a warning sign.

Continue

#13. Which is the main cause of car skids?

Skidding is caused when a driver is traveling too fast for conditions, stops too suddenly or when the tires can no longer grip the roadway. Once the vehicle begins to skid, a driver has little control of the vehicle. If the vehicle begins to skid, drivers should:

  • Ease up on the accelerator.
  • Steer in the direction that the rear of the vehicle is sliding. This will allow the vehicle to go straight instead of sideways.
  • Be prepared to steer in the opposite direction if the vehicle starts swerving in the other direction.
  • Once the vehicle stops skidding, straighten the front wheels and steer back in the original direction of travel.
Continue

#14. Certain highway signs and markings require that you must obey the indicated instruction. Such signs are known as:

Regulatory devices instruct you to stop, proceed in a certain direction, or limit your speed. You must obey the rules on these signs. Failure to comply is subject to penalty.

Continue

#15. It is always illegal to park your vehicle:

Never park within an intersection.

Continue

#16. A truck's blind spots:

Large trucks and buses have big No-Zones on both sides. They are much larger than a vehicle’s blind spot. Trucks have a large blind spot on their right side starting behind the cab and extending up to the length of the truck. It is important for a driver to know that if the truck driver’s face cannot be seen in the side view mirror, then the truck driver cannot see the other vehicle. Drivers should avoid driving alongside a large vehicle for any longer than what is required. If the truck driver needs to swerve or change lanes, the chances of a collision are greatly increased.

Continue

#17. In general, how many alcoholic drinks does it take to affect your ability to drive safely?

Even one drink of alcohol can affect a person’s ability to operate a motor vehicle. With one or more drinks in the bloodstream a person can be impaired and could be arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs.

Continue

#18. Which is true about the right of way at a 4-way stop?

At a four-way intersection controlled by stop signs, you must yield the right-of-way to the driver on your right if both of you arrive at the intersection at the same time (Same Time Rule).

Continue

#19. If you are involved in a traffic crash and someone is injured, your first course of action should be:

If a crash occurs, drivers must always stop at the scene. If possible, they should move the vehicle off the road so that traffic is not blocked from passing the site of the crash. They should also:

  • Call 911 if there are injuries.
  • Give aid to any injured people, but do not move them unless it is necessary, and be sure an ambulance has been called.
  • Get information for all people involved in the crash.
Continue

#20. What does the four-second rule mean?

Drivers need time and space to adjust and react to other road users. The more space drivers allow between their vehicle and other roadway users, the more time the driver has time to react. Traffic, speed, along with light, weather and road conditions will impact the space needed between the vehicle being driven and potential hazards. In order to reduce the risk of a collision, drivers should maintain enough following distance space to allow time to safely stop or change the path of travel to avoid a collision.

Drivers should always try to keep a minimum following distance of at least four seconds between their car and the vehicle in front. Drivers should increase the following distance:

  • On slippery roads.
  • When following large vehicles like trucks, buses, recreational vehicles, and vehicles pulling a trailer.
  • At night, in fog, or in bad weather.
  • When following vehicles required to stop at railroad crossings, like transit buses, school buses or vehicles carrying hazardous materials.
See result




The New Hampshire Written Knowledge Test

Key numbers for your official knowledge exam in New Hampshire:

  Test questions: 40
  Passing score: 80%
  Correct answers: 32
  Time limit: 40 minutes
  Earliest retest if you fail: 10 days

New Hampshire Written Test - Photo by KoolShooters

Practice for Your New Hampshire Written Test

The official written knowledge test in New Hampshire is designed to verify your knowledge of New Hampshire’s motor vehicle laws, rules of the road, and safe driving guidelines, and many other driving related subjects.

To prepare for this written exam you should:

  Get a copy of New Hampshire’s Driver’s Manual
  Use practice tests to check your progress.

You Will Find Everything in the Manual

Remember, the NH Driver’s Manual is your best friend when preparing for the written knowledge test. Don’t spend too much time browsing the internet for the exact exam questions, because you will not find them.

It is your responsibility as a driver to be familiar with the motor vehicle laws in New Hampshire. By understanding rules and regulations that directly or indirectly affect all drivers, you will become a better driver and you will hopefully be at less risk of being involved in an accident.

The Driver’s Manual has everything you need to learn for the examination and is also an excellent guide for understanding many safe driving practices.

You can get your copy at any DMV office or download it online .

You need at least a day or two to read and understand everything in the manual. After that, you should keep it handy during all study sessions and return to it when you need more information or repeat some chapters.

The New Hampshire Driver's Manual - licenseroute.com

Does Practice Tests Help?

Research shows that students who use practice tests or quizzes have a far better chance of passing an exam than students who rely on the manual or notes alone.

The more you practice, the more likely you are to pass the exam.

With a pool of more than 500 question, licenseroute.com will help you achieve a passing score on your first try.

Is it the Same Questions on the Real Exam?

This practice test is a sample test with questions designed specifically to help you with the New Hampshire exam. It has 20 random questions drawn from all parts of the information in the manual.

You can take the test over and over again, each time there will be a new set of questions.

Questions cover the same items as the real exam and can be the same that you will see on your test. But remember that the computerized exam is random, which means that you never know which questions you will get. Wording may also differ between a sample test and a real exam.

The real exam has 40 questions, but the practice test is limited to 20 questions in each set. On the real test, you will see 4 choices – on this practice test there is 3 choices. Only one choice is correct.

Is NH Written Test Timed?

Yes, the New Hampshire knowledge test is timed. The allotted time for your exam is 40 minutes, which may not seem to be much, but you should know that most test takers finish in less than 30 minutes.

Is NH Written Test Difficult?

About 25% of all first-time test takers fail the exam, which is a low failure rate compared to many other states.

Easy - DMV Test difficulty grading by licenseroute

What Happens If I Fail the Test?

If you fail your first attempt at the test, there is a mandatory wait time of at least 10 days before you can take the test again.

Together with Virginia, New Hampshire has the longest wait time before retesting is available.

How Old Must I be to Get a Permit in New Hampshire?

Unlike other states, New Hampshire does not issue special non-commercial learner permits.

You can start practice your driving skills on New Hampshire roads if you:

  Are at least 15½ years old and carry proof of your age.
  Drive accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or other licensed adult who is at least 25 years.
  Drive a non-commercial vehicle.

Must I Complete a Driver Education to Get a Driver License?

In New Hampshire, a driver education is mandatory for all new drivers under 18 years.

The driver education must consist of:

  30 hours of classroom instruction
  10 hours of practice driving
  16 hours of driving observation

In addition, a teenager must complete 40 hours of additional supervised driving with a parent, guardian, or other responsible adult. 10 of these hours must be completed at night.

A driver education course is also required for non-US citizens who move to New Hampshire and don’t have previous driving experience.

Driver education is offered at many public high schools in New Hampshire and at over 60 driving schools throughout the state.



How Old Must I be to Get a Driver License in New Hampshire?

New Hampshire does not issue a driver license unless the applicant is at least 16 years old.

To get your first non-commercial driver license, you must the vision test, the knowledge test, and a road skills test.

What are the Restrictions on My First Driver License?

Drivers under 21 years old will be issued a Youth Operator License which will expire on the driver’s 21st birthday.

If you are under 18 years, you cannot:

  Drive between the hours of 1:00 a.m. and 4:00 a.m.
  Have more than 1 non-family passenger under 25 years during the first 6 months
  Never have more passengers than seat belts or safety restraints in the vehicle.

 

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments