#1. When overtaking another vehicle on a two-lane road, you must:
Always signal when you want to pass. Start signaling 100 feet ahead in business or residential areas, or 300 feet ahead in other areas.
#2. The shape of a no U-turn sign is:
No U-Turn. You cannot turn around to go in the opposite direction where this sign is posted. In Nevada, U-turns are generally allowed on any road when they can be made safely.
#3. Orange road signs indicate:
Orange is used for construction and maintenance warning. The signs are usually diamond shaped. They notify drivers of unusual or potentially dangerous conditions near work areas.
#4. What should you do when you approach a railroad crossing marked only with a Crossbuck sign?
When you approach a railway crossing, slow down, be ready to stop, and remember to always look both ways, even if there is no stop sign or signal that a train is coming. A Crossbuck sign indicates the location of a train crossing and means you must yield
#5. Which is true about alcohol?
Alcohol is a mind-altering drug that works as a sedative. It changes the way you think and act. It affects judgment and coordination.
#6. If you are stopped by a law enforcement officer, you should:
Pull over and stop!
- Stop your vehicle as far out of the lane of traffic as possible.
- Stay in your vehicle.
- If you are stopped at night, turn on the interior light.
- Keep your hands in plain view at all times.
- Refrain from making any sudden movements.
- Wait for the officer to request your documents.
- Officers are trained to ask for identification first and provide an explanation of why you were stopped second.
- Don’t argue a citation with the officer.
#7. Before you make a turn in front of a motorcycle with its turn signal flashing, you should:
Do not assume a motorcycle is turning when you see its turn signal flashing. Turn signals are not self-canceling on most motorcycles. Before you make a lane change or turn that depends on what path a motorcycle is taking, be sure you know what the motorcyclist is doing.
#8. Where is a U-turn against the law?
Never make a U-turn:
- At or on a railroad crossing.
- On a divided highway by crossing a dividing section, curb, strip of land, or two sets of double yellow lines.
- Where you cannot see clearly 200 feet in each direction because of a curve, hill, rain, fog, or other reason.
- Where a No U-turn sign is posted.
- When other vehicles may hit you.
- On a one-way street.
- In front of a fire station. Never use a fire station driveway to turn your vehicle around.
- In business districts. Areas with churches, apartments, multifamily housing units, and public buildings are also considered to be business districts. Turn only at an intersection, unless a sign prohibits it, or where openings are provided for turns.
- Near a grade where there is less than 500 feet of visibility in both directions.
#9. What does this sign mean?
This is a yield sign.
Three-sided red yield signs mean you must slow down and be ready to stop to let any vehicle, bicyclist, or pedestrian pass before you proceed.
#10. When you become a Nevada resident, you must get a Nevada driver's license within:
When you become a Nevada resident, you must secure a Nevada driver’s license within 30 days.
#11. What is the hand signal for a right turn?
Right turn – left arm extended, with elbow bent upward, at about a 90-degree angle.
#12. When you exit a roundabout, you should:
When exiting a roundabout, you should maintain a slow speed and indicate your exit by using your right turn signal. Do not accelerate until you are beyond the pedestrian crossing at the exit. Do not stop within a roundabout unless it is the only way to safely avoid a collision or other danger.
#13. When you drive at night, you should:
Driving at night is always more difficult and hazardous than daytime driving. At night, you cannot see as far, as soon or as much. Always drive within the range of your headlights. Keep your speed in control and within posted speed limits.
#14. You have a green light and there are vehicles blocking your way in the intersection. What should you do?
A green light means GO. You may proceed through an intersection in the direction indicated by the signal if the road is clear. You must yield to vehicles already in the intersection. Don’t enter the intersection if it is blocked. Make sure you look right and left for oncoming traffic.
#15. You must use your headlights between:
Legally, you must use your headlights from a half hour after sunset until a half hour before sunrise. Headlights are also required because of insufficient light and anytime persons or vehicles cannot be clearly seen at a distance of 1,000 feet.
#16. When brakes fail:
When brakes fail, do not panic. Try pumping the brake pedal. If the brakes still do not respond use the emergency parking brake and, if possible, shift to a lower gear.
#17. Parking is never allowed:
Parking within an intersection is never allowed.
#18. All the following practices are dangerous while driving. Which is also illegal?
Nevada law prohibits the use of handheld cell phones and texting while driving.
The use of a cellular phone or other handheld wireless communications device to engage voice communications is prohibited unless the device is used with a hands-free accessory.
The use of a cellular phone or other handheld wireless communications device to manually send, read, search the Internet, or engage in non-voice communications with another person, including texting, electronic messaging and instant messaging is prohibited.
#19. A yellow unbroken line on the right-hand side of the centerline means:
Solid yellow lines indicate no passing or lane changing – unless making a left turn into or from an alley, private road, or driveway.
#20. You approach a stopped school bus on your side of a divided highway. Red lights are flashing. In this situation, you must:
When the bus flashes red lights, you must stop until the children are safely across the street and the bus resumes motions or the red lights are no longer flashing.
#21. Babies must not ride facing forward until they are:
Babies must not ride facing forward until they are 1 year old and weigh at least 20 pounds. The rear-facing safety seat supports a baby’s head, protecting the neck and spine from injury in most crashes.
Never put an infant in the front seat if the car has a passenger side airbag.
#22. Truck drivers often keep an extra space cushion in front of the truck. What is this extra space is needed for?
You could get rear ended by a large commercial truck or bus if you cut in front too soon after passing, then immediately slow down. This can force truck and bus drivers to slam on their brakes. These large vehicles need nearly twice the time and distance to stop as cars. When passing, look for the whole front of the commercial truck or bus in your rearview mirror before pulling into the truck’s lane – and then do not slow down!
#23. When turning right, you must:
When turning right, signal your turn at least 100 feet ahead. Yield to pedestrians and other traffic, including crossing bicyclists.
#24. Which is one factor that greatly affects your stopping distance?
The process of stopping your car has three main components: perception, reaction, and braking. This is usually referred to as stopping distance. The first two components can be affected by human factors such as tiredness, alcohol, fatigue, and concentration levels. The last component depends on factors such as: tires, brakes, road, and weather conditions.
#25. The two-second rule refers to how you should:
Leave plenty of space between you and the vehicle ahead. At any speed, you can use the two-second rule to see if you are far enough behind the car in front of you. The two-second rule applies to any speed in good weather and road conditions. If road or weather conditions are not good, double your following distance.
Read more about how to use this rule in your driver’s handbook.
Remember, the two-second rule does not mean that you are able to stop within two seconds.
Nevada DMV Written Test
Quick facts about your DMV driver’s license and learner’s permit test in Nevada:
|Number of Questions:||25|
|Correct answers needed:||20|
|Passing score:||80 percent|
|Earliest retest upon failure:||–|
500+ Nevada DMV Written Test Questions
This practice test for a Nevada Driver License or Learner’s Permit has 25 questions. Each set of questions is randomly drawn from a pool of more than 500 DMV questions. It gives you a lot of chances to check your knowledge and if you are ready for the real DMV examination or not.
After each question, there is a quick feedback that tells you your answer was correct or not. If you made a mistake, there is also brief explanation that explains the correct answer.
The test is specifically designed to help you pass the Nevada written DMV exam, which means that answers are not always applicable to other states.
Please note that this is not an official DMV home test. Nevada DMV does not offer knowledge testing from the comfort of your home and licenseroute.com is not associated with Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (NVDMV).
The Official NVDMV Written Test
The official knowledge test for a learner’s permit or Nevada Driver License has 25 questions about road rules, Nevada traffic laws, and safe driving. You need 20 correct answer to pass the test. That is passing score of 80%.
The test has less road sign questions than in other states. It focuses more on road rules and Nevada laws. All questions are based on the information in the Nevada Driver’s Handbook .
There is no time limit on the test, which means you should take your time and carefully read all questions and answer alternatives. When you see “All of the above” as the last choice, you must be aware that more than one alternative can be correct.
Expect the test to take about 10-15 minutes to complete.
You typically take the test on a computer with audio support. The test is available only in English and Spanish. If you aren’t fluent in any of these two languages, you can be allowed to use an interpreter, but remember that you may bring only an approved interpreter and you must pay for the interpreter yourself. If you have difficulties managing a computerized test, you may ask for an oral examination.
Should you fail the written test the first time, you may, at the discretion of the examiner, be allowed to take it again the same day. DMV charges an additional fee for every retest.
Is the Nevada Written DMV Test Hard?
The failure rate on the Nevada DMV test is approximately 40%. More than 1 out of 3 first-time test takers fail the exam.
This is more than in many other states, but with the right preparations you can pass the test.
Drivers under 18 Years Must Complete a Driver Education Course
In general, you must complete a driver education course if you are under 18 years and apply for your first driver license. You may take courses offered by a public or private high school or a DMV-licensed professional drive school.
You can enroll when you turn 15 years, and you have three options:
- Attend a classroom course and complete 50 hours of behind-the-wheel experience; or
- Complete an online course and 50 hours of behind-the-wheel experience; or
- Complete 100 hours of driving experience. This option applies only if a classroom course is not offered within a 30-mile radius of your residence and you do not have access to the internet.
The Nevada Driver’s Handbook will be provided when you start your driver education, but we recommend that you get a copy ahead of the course and familiarize yourself with the content. You can get a copy at any DMV office or download a PDF-version of the handbook online .
Full License at 16 Years
To apply for a full Nevada Driver’s License, you must be at least 16 years old and you must have held a valid instruction permit for at least six months. During the six months before you apply, you cannot have any at-fault crashes, moving violation convictions, or alcohol/drug convictions of any kind.