Kansas DMV Test Practice – 25 Questions and Answers

Results

-

Good job!

Aim for a full score on a handful of tests.

New Test / New Questions

You need more practice!

Aim for a full score on a handful of tests.

Get a new test & new questions

#1. When backing up or reversing your car:

Before backing you should look to the front, sides and rear, and continue to look to the rear while backing. Do not depend on your mirror. Back slowly. Do not interfere with other traffic.

Continue

#2. If you are preparing to leave the interstate and discover that you have taken the wrong exit, you should:

Plan ahead. Watch for exit signs. If you miss your exit do not back up. Go to the next exit. Do not slow down or stop. Stay away from the shoulder. Stopping on an interstate is a primary cause of rear end collisions.

Continue

#3. If you drive slower than the flow of traffic on a freeway you must:

The basic rule is to drive in the right-hand lane. The left lane is for passing or turning. Remember, when you are driving more slowly than the traffic flow on a highway that has two or more lanes in your direction, you should move to and stay in the right lane.

Continue

#4. When you see this sign, you should:

Stop sign ahead. When you come to this sign, you should slow down and be ready to stop at the stop sign ahead.

Continue

#5. Because motorcycles are smaller than cars:

Motorcycles/scooters/mopeds are small and, therefore, more difficult to see. The smaller profile can make it more difficult to judge the speed and distance as they approach. Before turning left, be alert for them by looking carefully to the front and sides of your vehicle. Their size also allows them to duck easily into your blind spot. Always make a visual check for motorcycles/scooters/mopeds by checking mirrors and blind spots by turning your head and looking before entering or leaving a lane of traffic and at intersections.

Continue

#6. When a school bus with flashing red lights is stopped on the other side of an undivided roadway with two lanes, you must

You must stop when meeting or overtaking a school bus, church bus or day care bus stopped to pick up or let off children. You must remain stopped until the stop signal is retracted and the red lights are turned off.

Continue

#7. A driver's license applicant less than 18 years must complete 50 hours of supervised driving, of which at least 10 hours must be:

An applicant must have completed 50 hours of practice driving while accompanied by an adult, 21 years of age or older. 10 of those at night. The 50 hour affidavit is not required if 18 years or older.

Continue

#8. Regulatory road signs are normally:

Black and white (or red and white) are used for regulatory signs.

Continue

#9. The two-second rule refers to how you should:

The two-second rule refers to a following distance. The law requires that you keep a safe distance between your vehicle and the vehicle in front of you. Kansas driver’s manual recommends you to use the two second rule for measuring safe following distance under normal conditions. Under adverse conditions use the four-second-following rule.

Continue

#10. There is always a crosswalk where a road intersects a sidewalk, even if it is not marked by painted lines.

In the illustration, the area from where sidewalk A ends and sidewalk B begins is a legal crosswalk, even though there are no painted lines. For this reason, it is called an unmarked crosswalk.

Continue

#11. Which is true about seat belts?

If you are in a crash, a seat belt will save your life and that of others. It will keep you in your seat and allow for you to maintain control of your vehicle.

Continue

#12. What is true about a shared center lane?

Shared center lanes are reserved for making left turns from or into the roadway or when preparing for or making a U-turn where permitted by law. You cannot use the lane for passing maneuver or as a regular traveling lane.

Continue

#13. Your car breaks down on the highway. After moving it off the road, what is the best thing you can do to make sure that other roadway users can see your disabled vehicle?

Turn on your emergency flashers to show your vehicle is disabled. A white cloth attached to a vehicle also indicates a disabled vehicle is present, so tie a white cloth to the antenna, side mirror or door handle to signal an emergency. You can also lift the hood to indicate a disabled vehicle. Never stand or remain on the roadway and do not try to change a tire in traffic lanes.

Continue

#14. When is it allowed to drive around or under a lowered gate at a railroad crossing?

If the gates are down, stay in place and do not cross the tracks until the gates are raised. It is against the law to go around crossing gates.

Continue

#15. When parking close to a stop sign you must keep what distance?

The distance you must keep from a stop sign is more than 30 feet. Parking is not allowed within 30 feet of any traffic control sign at the side of the roadway.

Continue

#16. A traffic signal showing a steady red light means:

A steady red circular signal means stop. You must come to a complete stop.

Continue

#17. What does this sign mean?

Divided highway ahead (divided highway begins). The opposing lanes of traffic are being separated by an island or median. Keep to the right.

Continue

#18. When should you use your horn?

The horn may be used when necessary to insure safe operation of the vehicle and for no other purpose. Remember, the horn is not intended to take the place of brakes. Do not use your horn to alert a bicyclist of your approach in a non-emergency situation. A loud horn can cause a bicyclist to lose control.

Continue

#19. What is the most important driving technique when driving on icy or snowy roads?

Neither chains or snow tires will permit you to drive on slick pavement at normal speeds, so do not let yourself get a false feeling of security. You must slow down. Maintain a safe interval. You must increase the distance from the car ahead of you according to the conditions of the pavement.

Continue

#20. What does this sign mean?

Sharp turn. There is a sharp turn to the right in the road ahead. Reduce speed. The turn is too sharp to take at the regular highway speed. An advisory speed sign may be attached.

Continue

#21. What is true about sharing the road with a bicyclist?

As a motorist, you should know that a bicyclist has the same rights, privileges and responsibilities as you. You should expect to see bicyclists on the road, driving with traffic. You should not be surprised to see a bicyclist using the left lane when turning. Additionally, when a lane is too narrow for cars and bikes to drive side-by-side, the bicyclist will take the travel lane, which means driving in or near the center of the lane.

Continue

#22. What does this sign mean?

You have entered a lane of oncoming traffic. Remember, if you pass this sign, you are already driving against traffic. Turn around! Wrong-way signs are used as a supplement to the do not enter sign. They are placed along the exit ramp or the one-way roadway farther from the crossroad.

Continue

#23. When driving on wet or slippery roads, the speed limit is:

Kansas’ basic speed law provides that you must never drive a vehicle at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions then existing.

Continue

#24. How does alcohol affect you?

Alcohol and other impairing drugs slows your ability to process information and respond to critical driving tasks. Alcohol and impairing drugs makes you drowsy and less alert to what is around you. Alcohol also affects your judgment, vision, and color distinction.

Continue

#25. If you suddenly have a tire blowout while driving at high speed, you should immediately steer off the pavement.

Remember, do not overreact. The instinct may be to brake hard or immediately steer off the road. The steering wheel should be held tightly and you should keep the vehicle going straight. Once the vehicle is under control, move slowly and safely off the road.

See result





DMV Test Practice for Kansas Permit

Key numbers for the real Kansas DMV knowledge test:

  Number of Questions: 25
  Correct answers needed: 20
  Passing score: 80 percent
  Time limit: n/a
  Earliest retest upon failure: next business day

Random Practice Test – Take it Again and Again…

This is a random practice test for your Kansas Instruction Permit. Just like the real DMV written test, each practice test has 25 questions, and the passing score is reached with 20 correct answers.

Just remember that you should aim for a full score when you practice. Read up on all your mistakes to make sure you learned everything described in the Kansas Driving Handbook.

You can take this practice test as many times as you need. It is a random test with new questions each time you take it.

Questions and answers are drawn from a large pool of DMV questions, just like the real thing.

All answers are found in the Kansas Driving Handbook.




How to Study for the Kansas DMV Exam

1   Get the Kansas Driving Handbook.

You can download the handbook in PDF-format and save it on your phone, tablet, or computer.

It is easier to study with a hard copy of the handbook. Check with your local DMV service center on how you can get your hands on one.

2   Study everything in the Handbook.

All information in the handbook is there for a reason and Kansas Department of Revenue wants to make sure you have read the handbook before they issue an instruction permit. Therefore, they draw questions for the knowledge exam from all parts of the handbook.

There is a focus on safe driving techniques and your responsibilities as a new driver. You must understand some of the basic driving laws in Kansas, as well as road signs, signals, and markings.

Kansas Driving Handbook

3   Use practice tests to check up on your knowledge.

Practice tests are a supplement to the driving handbook. They should not be used instead of reading the handbook, but in combination with the handbook.

Recheck facts in the handbook when you aren’t sure about the answers.

4   Be active.

Learning all the rules of the road don’t happen overnight. Give it time and don’t attempt the real exam too soon.

Discuss difficult questions with friends, family, teachers, or driver instructors. Pay attention to road signs, signals, markings, and traffic patterns in your daily life. It can work as quick reminders of important facts.

5   Aim for the full score.

Be careful not to rely solely on the online practice tests. Work actively to reach better understanding of rules and safe driving. It will help you not only on the knowledge exam, but also in your future driving.

When you reach a full score on more than a handful of practice tests and feel comfortable with all the answers, you are probably ready.

What you need to know about the Kansas DMV test

What You Need to Know about the Kansas DMV test

  How difficult is the test?

Kansas Department of Revenue does not release failure rates, but the difficulty on the Kansas exam is generally rated moderate. In a few states the knowledge exam is tougher and in other states the test it easier.

Our data suggests that slightly more than 50% of all first-time test takers pass the test.

The older a person is, the more likely they are to pass the first time.

The more time spent on preparations, the more likely a person is to pass.

  Is there a time limit on the Kansas test?

There is no time limit on the Kansas DMV exam, so you have no reason to rush through the test. Re-read every question and all choices at least once before you answer. Only one of the choices is correct.

The test will not take more than 15-20 minutes – even with careful reading!

  What if I fail the test?

Should you fail the test, DMV may allow you to take the test again the next business day. Due to the current pandemic, however, all visits to a service location requires an appointment and you might find that there are no available slots the next day.

You should also know that you need to pay the testing fee every time you re-test. So, it could be a good idea to spend a few days with our practice tests again.

After 4 failed attempts, you must wait 6 months before you can try again. You definitely don’t want that.

  Can I take the test from home?

Unlike some other states, Kansas does not allow you to take the knowledge test from your home.




What Happens After You Have Passed the Test?

To get this far, you have already presented acceptable proof of your identity and address in Kansas. You have also passed a vision screening and paid the appropriate application fee.

If you are a minor, 14 – 15 years, you have also submitted the parental approval form.

After you have passed the knowledge test, Kansas DMV will issue an instruction permit (or farm permit, if you applied for one).

Your new permit allows you to start practicing driving skills.

Before you get behind the wheel, there are a few things you must know.

Restrictions on the Instruction Permit

Under no circumstances can you drive alone when you hold an instruction permit.

You must always drive together with a supervising driver who is at least 21 years old. The supervising driver must hold valid commercial driver’s license, a class A, B or C driver’s license, and have at least one year of driving experience.

No person other than the supervising driver can be in the front seat.

If you are under 17 years, you cannot use any kind of wireless communication device while driving, unless you need to report illegal activity or to summons medical or other emergency help. This is true even if your car has hands-free devices.

There is no night curfew and no other passenger restrictions while you hold the instruction permit.

If you are under 17 years, you must hold the instruction permit for a minimum of one year before DMV lets you advance to the next level in the graduated driver licensing (GDL) program, a restricted driver license

Read more: Kansas law

Moving - Photo by Ketut Subiyanto from Pexels

Moving to Kansas

If you are licensed in another state and move to Kansas, the knowledge test and the driving skills test are waived. DMV will just check your vision and take a new picture for a replacement license.

When you visit DMV, you must bring your out-of-state license, proof of your Social Security Number (SSN), and two documents that show your Kansas residency.

With an expired out-of-state license, DMV will always ask you to take the written knowledge test. When your license expired more than a year ago, all tests are required, including the driving test.

If you hold a driver license from another country, you must pass all tests and all requirements.

Kansas does not waive any testing requirements for licensed drivers from foreign countries.


COVID-19 Alerts

Kansas Covid 19 response

Please note that during the 2020-2021 pandemic, you must make an appointment before you visit a Kansas DMV service center.

Find your nearest driver license exam station here: Kansas DOV Service Locations .

All visitors must complete a COVID-19 symptom questionnaire.

For the practical driving test you must wear a face mask, no exceptions.

More Information

You must be at least 14 years old to apply for an Instruction permit. When you apply, you must show acceptable proof of identity, submit an approval from parents if you are under 16 years, pass a vision exam, and have your picture taken. To be approved you must pass the written knowledge test or submit certificate of an approved driver education.

A Kansas farm permit can be issued to teenagers between 14 years and 17 years. The permit is issued only if the teen lives on a farm consisting of 20 or more acres that is used for agricultural purposes or is employed for work on such a farm. The farm affidavit must be signed by employer (if applicable) and a parent or legal guardian.

To get a farm permit you must pass both the knowledge test and the driving skills test or complete an approved driver education.

I addition to practice driving with a supervising driver, a farm permit also lets you drive alone to/from or in connection with any farm job, employment or other farm-related work. You may also drive over the most direct and accessible route between home and school for the purpose of school attendance.

If you are under 17 years, must hold the permit for 1 year to advance to restricted license.

You can download the Kansas Driver Handbook in PDF-format from www.ksrevenue.org and save it on your phone, tablet, or computer. You can also get a hard copy from a local DOV service center. During the pandemic, you should call ahead and ask for availability.

The Kansas DMV test for an instruction permit (or farm permit) has 25 questions. You need 20 correct answers for a passing score (80%).

 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*