#1. Which of the following statements about the use of seat belts is correct?
Idaho law requires all occupants to wear safety belts and/or shoulder straps when riding in a motor vehicle equipped with these devices by the factory.
#2. When two vehicles from different directions arrive at the same time at a four-way stop, which one should be given the right-of-way?
The first vehicle to arrive at a four-way stop should be given the right-of-way. If two vehicles arrive at the same time, the vehicle on the left must yield to the vehicle on the right.
#3. When you wish to exit a freeway, you should plan ahead and:
Getting off a freeway can be a simple maneuver if you know which exit to take, and follow the signs marking the lane for that exit. If you are not already in the correct lane, about a half mile before the exit, signal and move into the lane nearest the exit.
Move into the deceleration lane provided to let you slow down without interrupting the flow of traffic. Do not slow down on the freeway.
#4. Which statement is true about motorcyclists and other highway users?
Motorcycle riders have the same rights and responsibilities as other highway users, and they must obey the same traffic laws.
#5. Which of the following are required equipment on motor vehicles in Idaho?
All motor vehicles must be equipped with wipers to keep the windshield clear of rain, snow, or other moisture.
A bell, siren, or exhaust whistle is not allowed.
A red light showing from the front is not allowed.
Up to two cowl or fender lights are optional equipment.
#6. A traffic signal with a yellow arrow means:
A yellow circular indication warns that the signal is about to change to red. This means that the time to make a protected turn is ending. If you have not entered the intersection and can come to a safe stop, you should do so. If you are already in the intersection, you should continue moving and clear it safely.
#7. When traveling at 20 mph, your total minimum stopping distance under ideal circumstances is approximately:
If you are traveling at 20 mph, your total minimum stopping distance with perfect 4-wheel brakes on the best type of road surface under favorable conditions is 67 feet. See table in the Driver Handbook.
Remember, your actual stopping distances will vary widely with road, weather, and vehicle conditions.
#8. What does this sign mean?
You are nearing a school area with a crossing. Watch for children and the marked school crossing.
#9. What does a solid yellow line on a two-lane road indicate?
Solid yellow lines indicate no passing. The ONLY time a driver is permitted to cross a double yellow line is when turning left into a driveway or entrance to a business. Passing on the right is allowed when the vehicle you’re overtaking on a two-lane, two-way road is turning left.
#10. When driving at night, be sure that you can stop:
At night, your vision is reduced. To make sure you have time to react to danger, always drive slowly enough so you can stop within the distance you can see ahead.
This distance is about 350 feet when using the high beams of your headlights, and about 100 feet when using the low beams.
#11. This sign tells you:
No Left Turn.
You must not make a left turn at this intersection.
#12. Which is true about using high-beam headlights?
Remember, you should not use your high-beam headlights in fog. Low beams are best at such times.
#13. Which of these statements about motorcycles is true?
Allow more than three seconds following distance between your vehicle and a motorcycle. This allows you and the motorcyclist enough time to maneuver or stop in an emergency.
#14. For normal driving, you should grip the steering wheel by:
Be prepared to react promptly to emergencies by driving with both hands placed on opposite sides of the steering wheel at approximately the nine o’clock and three o’clock positions.
Check your owner’s manual for proper hand placement if your vehicle is equipped with air bags. Eight o’clock and four o’clock positions are common recommendations.
#15. Unless posted otherwise, what is the maximum speed limit on urban interstates in Idaho?
Where designated as permissible by federal law and as weather conditions permit, vehicles may travel at speeds up to 75 mph on rural interstates (65 mph for heavy trucks), and up to 65 mph on urban interstate highways, unless otherwise posted.
#16. When you park on a hill headed downhill and there is no curb, you should turn your front wheels:
To keep your vehicle from rolling into traffic when parked on a hill, turn your front wheels sharply toward and against the curb or edge of the road if you are facing downhill, or if you are facing uphill, turn your wheels sharply away and against the curb (if there is no curb, turn the wheels sharply toward the edge of the road).
Study the illustrations in the driver’s manual.
#17. Where is a U-turn illegal?
U-turns are illegal on a one-way street.
#18. Which of the following vehicles are required to stop at all railroad crossings?
Watch out for vehicles that must stop at crossings, be prepared to stop if you are following one.
All vehicles carrying hazardous materials must stop at all railroad crossings.
A school bus or transit bus must also come to a complete stop before crossing any railroad track.
#19. What shape is the road sign that tells you there is a school crossing ahead?
Five-sided sign black on yellow is used only to warn of schools and school crossings. As you approach this sign, slow down and watch out for children, stopping as necessary. New fluorescent yellow-green signs may also be used.
You should learn to recognize road signs by color and shape as well as the messages or symbols they carry.
#20. You are driving close to the right-hand side. Your wheels suddenly drops off the edge of the pavement onto the shoulder. Which is the best thing to do?
If you drive off the pavement and onto the shoulder of the road:
- Hold the steering wheel tightly and gently remove your foot from the gas pedal.
- Gently apply the brake to reduce your speed.
- Check for traffic behind you, then steer gently back onto the road.
Remember, do not overreact. Do not try to swerve back onto the pavement right away, because you may lose control of your vehicle.
#21. When you see this sign, you should:
There is another road ahead which crosses the road you are on. Watch carefully for cross traffic in your path.
#22. When approaching a stationary emergency vehicle with flashing lights and it is unsafe to move over and change lanes, you must:
When you are approaching an emergency or police vehicle that is stopped with lights flashing, you are required to immediately reduce your speed below the posted speed limit and proceed with caution. If you are traveling on a road with two or more lanes traveling in the same direction, you are also required to change lanes into a lane that is not adjacent to the emergency vehicle as soon as possible, if it is safe to do so.
#23. In which situation are you allowed to pass a school bus?
Stop for a school bus that is loading or unloading students. On a two-lane road, both following and oncoming traffic must stop and remain stopped as long as the red lights near the top of the bus are flashing and/or the stop arm on the left side of the bus is extended. You must remain stopped until all children are clear of the roadway and the bus moves again.
#24. In this situation (approaching the bicyclist from behind), you should:
To increase the safety margin when passing a bicyclist, move into the left lane if possible. If you do not have adequate space to pass a bicyclist, slow to the speed of the cyclist and follow him or her until you do have the room needed to pass. Do not tailgate the bicyclist.
In this situation passing on the other half of the roadway is unsafe. These are usually brief stretches of narrow roadway where it is unsafe for a motorist to pass a bicyclist.
#25. What does the Implied Consent law mean?
Any person who drives or is in physical control of a motor vehicle has given their consent to take a BAC or drug test if they are suspected of driving under the influence.
Note: In Idaho, an officer only requires reasonable grounds to believe a DUI has been committed – no arrest is necessary.
The Idaho DMV Test
Quick facts about the Idaho written test for your Driver’s License:
|Number of Questions:||40|
|Correct answers needed:||34|
|Passing score:||85 percent|
|Earliest retest upon failure:||3 days|
This Idaho License Sample Test
While the real Idaho knowledge examination has 40 questions for you to answer, this practice test is limited to 25 questions in each set. To make sure you cover all items in the Idaho Driver’s Manual , you should take at least a handful of practice tests.
Each set of questions is randomly created from a large pool of DMV questions.
With every answer there is a quick feedback so you will know if your answer was correct or not. In case you got it wrong there is also a brief explanation to the correct answer.
The practice test is designed to help you study and give you an idea of the kind of questions DMV will ask on the real examination. Try to use the test as a learning tool and not only as a way of memorizing important questions and answers.
While the questions cover all important items in the Idaho Driver’s Manual, they are not inclusive of all questions that can be asked on the official knowledge test. Since both the practice test and the real test are random, you will never know which questions you will get. But the more you practice, the more you will cover, and the more likely it is that you will pass the real examination.
Idaho Graduated Driver Licensing System
The Idaho Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system affects all new drivers under 17 years.
Driver Training Class
If you are at least 14 1/2 years old and get for your first permit application approved, DMV issues a Driver Training (DT) permit. With this permit you can attend any public school or private driver’s training program. You must have this permit before taking any training class.
An approved training class consists of:
30 hours of classroom instruction
Six (6) hours of behind-the-wheel instruction
Six (6) hours in-car observation
If you attend a training class through a public school, the minimum training period is 30 days. If you take a class from a commercial school, there is no minimum training period.
During this training period, you are only allowed to drive with a certified driver instructor.
When the training class is completed, your permit becomes a Supervised Instruction Permit (SIP).
Supervised Instruction Permit (SIP)
With the SIP in your hand you can practice driving with any licensed driver who is at least 21 years and who is occupying the front seat beside you (no other passengers are allowed in the front seat).
You must complete a supervised driving period, which must include:
No less than six calendar months of violation-free supervised driving
50 hours of supervised driving, of which 10 must be at night
Under no circumstances can you practice driving on your own.
Things to Know about the Knowledge Test
You must pass the knowledge test and a road skills test before DMV issues your Driver’s License.
As mentioned above, the knowledge test is a 40-question examination with a passing score of 85% (34 correct answers).
Should you fail the test, you must wait at least 3 days before you can take the test again. You must also pay the testing fee each time you take the test.
The knowledge test is available in the following languages:
American Sign Language (ASL)
Expect the test to take about 15-25 minutes.
Read all questions and answers choices all the way through. Be alert to questions that have “All of the above” or “None of the above” as one of the alternatives.
When “All of the above” is used, all alternatives can be correct – not just the first one that you spot! It can be tricky to get these questions right, so read carefully.
Your First Idaho Driver’s License
Before DMV issues your first Idaho driver’s license, you must be at least 15 years old.
A parent or legal guardian must certify that fifty (50) hours of driving were completed (10 of which were at night), and grant permission to issue the license.
The first license comes with some restrictions:
If you are under 16 years, you can drive during daylight hours only. This does not apply if you are accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age and sitting beside you.
If you are under 17 years, there is a passenger restriction during the first six months. You may drive with only one passenger under 17 years, unless the passengers are related to the driver by blood, adoption, or marriage.