Try our totally free practice tests for your driver’s license or learner’s permit. We give you more questions than any other site.
Not just sample questions, but complete tests.
You don’t need an account. We do not ask for your email. No gimmicks and no hassle.
And best of all? Most people fail at their first written exam. With our free tests, you will have a very good chance of passing your test the first time!
Our online test is easy to use. We will pick 24-30 random questions from a database with more than 500 questions. You get instant answers with detailed explanations. Complete coverage of state laws and the driver’s manual. And you can create a new test as many times as you want.
Try it now!
Click on start and select your state.
How to Prepare for the Knowledge Test?
Read the driver’s manual or handbook. The books are available free at the DMV or DPS office. Don’t think you already know so much that you can skip reading the book.
Look for practice tests, like the ones on this site. Practice until you are confident you will pass.
When you are ready, gather the required documents. As a minimum, you will need proof of your identity and residency.
The documentation requirements are different depending on state, if you are a US citizen or not, or a minor or an adult. Check your driver’s manual or handbook.
We have updated our practice tests for District of Columbia and added more than 100 questions. The total number of questions available for your permit practice tests or practice tests for a full license now exceeds 600.
This means that every aspect of the D.C. Driver’s Manual is covered in our tests. Questions on the real test will not be exactly the same, but they will touch the same subjects.
The D.C. Examination
If you are between less than 20 years old, the official computerized knowledge test will have 30 questions. To pass, you must answer at least 24 questions correctly (80%). If you are older, the test has 25 questions and you must answer at least 24 questions correctly (80%).
The official knowledge test is designed to check your knowledge of traffic laws, rules of the road, motor vehicle laws, and safe driving practices. All information you need is included in the driver’s manual. Do not forget to read it!
There will be a $10 fee charged each time you take the knowledge test. No appointment is needed.
Make sure you know your stuff before you line up at the DMV office. If you fail the test, you must wait 72 hours before you can take a new test. Should you fail six times, you will not be allowed to retest until one year from the first failed test date.
How to Pass your Permit Test
1. Study the Manual – No matter what your friends say, don’t skip this.
2. Take a handful of practice tests each day for at least a week. Most users practice for 10 days or more.
3. Make sure you understand questions and answers. Don’t just memorize.
4. Make sure you hit a score of 90% or more with ease, otherwise give it another week.
5. When doing your final test, stay calm. Don’t read anything into questions that isn’t there. Take your time.
Utah Learner’s Permit
The Utah learner’s permit will be issued if you are at least 15 years old and have successfully passed the written, eye, physical and mental fitness tests.
After you have completed an approved driver education course you will be required to pass a driving skills test.
Utah Written Test
The written test in Utah for all permits and licenses includes two parts, a road sign test and a part with written questions based on the information in the handbook. You will be asked questions about rules of the road and some regulations. You must also know proper driving techniques and other important elements of safe driving. There are questions about alcohol and general behavior and attitude.
Remember, to pass the test, you must study the whole driver handbook, not just rely on the practice test questions.
The Practice Tests
With more than 600 practice questions we have you completely covered for your written test. Each test is random and questions are taken from all areas in the handbook.
All questions on our practice tests are the multiple-choice-type. Only one answer is correct. You may also find some true/false questions, but they usually do not appear on the real test.
The passing score is 80%. You must correctly answer 20 out of 25 questions. There are no time limits, and you can basically take as many tests as you want, for as long as you want.
Start your practice test here:
The Final Test
When taking the final written test you should allow yourself at least one hour to complete the test.
The key to your success? Read every question carefully!
Updated Practice Tests for Arkansas
Anyone applying for an Arkansas driver’s license or learner’s permit can now take the extended practice tests on licenseroute.com and pass the written exam with ease. Our tests cover the complete Arkansas driver’s manual and give all the preparation you need for your final knowledge exam.
Who Must Take the Knowledge Test?
You are required to take the written knowledge exam when you apply for an Arkansas driver’s license for the first time. If you move to Arkansas with an out-of-state license that is expired over 31 days or don’t have a license to surrender, you must also pass the knowledge test. If your out-of-state license is expired over one year, you will be required to take the road examination in addition to the written knowledge test and the vision test.
To transfer an out-of-country license you must also pass all applicable tests, including the written test.
Tests are given on a computerized system and you must correctly answer 20 out of 25 questions (a passing score of 80%), just like the practice tests on this website.
More Details and the Manual
Remember, Arkansas requires that you obtain an Arkansas driver’s license if you stay in the state for more than 6 months or within 30 days after becoming a resident.
More details about the driver examination in Arkansas is found on Arkansas State Police homepage: here. You can download the Arkansas Driver License Test Study Guide-Volume1 Edition 6 here
Questions on the Maryland Practice Test have been updated to reflect new laws.
Maryland Seat Belt Law
As of October 1, 2013 there is a new seat belt law in Maryland. All passengers must be buckled up, regardless of seating position. A primary seat belt law is in effect for front seat occupants and a secondary seat belt law for back seat occupants.
The primary seat belt law means that traffic tickets can be issued to drivers and front seat passengers even if no other violation is observed. It may cost you up to $83 for not wearing a seat belt.
As a driver you are also responsible for any passenger less than 16 who is not buckled up. You will receive a ticket for each passenger less than 16 who is not wearing a seat belt.
Between 2007 and 2011, 127 backseat occupants of passenger vehicles were killed on Maryland roads. 75% were not wearing seat belts. Statistics also show that passengers not wearing a seat belt were 67% more likely to sustain a moderate to fatal injury if involved in a crash.
Buckling up is the single most important step you can take to save your life in the event of a crash.
Maryland Cell Phone Ban
Also effective October 1, 2013, is Maryland’s new cell phone law. It prohibits all drivers from using a handheld cell phone while a motor vehicle is in motion. The use of a handheld cell phone while driving is a primary offense. A police officer can stop you solely for using a handheld cell phone. No other offense is needed.
Toward Zero Deaths on Maryland Roads
The changes are part of the state’s work toward zero deaths on the Maryland roads. Statistics show that more than 500 people die on Maryland roads every year. Legislators want to remind you that they are all family, friends and neighbors, not just numbers.
Every person that dies is a loss that is sudden, shocking, and unpredictable.
During the last couple of years, insurance companies have been offering tracking devices to lower your insurance premiums. Allstate call it the Drive Wise system, State Farm the Drive Safe and Save, and Progressive Pay as You Drive program (or snapshot tool). Progressive’s Snapshot Tool has recently been seen in the “Rate Suckers” campaign on TV.
The idea is not new, in fact it has been around for a long time, but technology has made it easier to use. Most of the well-known auto insurers in United States now have some sort of program to offer or being in trials.
A Money Saver
In some cases you get an immediate discount for joining these programs, typically 10 percent. Additional discounts are offered after the device shows that you are a safe driver.
Tracking data is supposed to relate to safe driving habits and calculate accident risks. If the data shows that a driver is doing harder braking and sudden stops, the more likely this driver is a distracted driver. This also means, the greater the chance of running into another vehicle and the greater risk for the insurance company.
All companies say that data will not cause insurance premiums to rise. Instead, only good drivers will receive a chance to lower their premiums.
For Arthur Stuart, 47, in Massachusetts it is a real saver. He tends to think more about defensive driving than before. This includes braking early and smoothly before a traffic light changes to red, keeping a safe following distance to the vehicle ahead and stay within the speed limit. A proven record of no accidents and no traffic violations does not hurt, either. He is the typical customer that can gain a lot from any of the programs.
Safety should pay.
Younger drivers, with less experience, may not have as much to gain from letting the insurance company track their driving habits.
Progressive, however, claims that about 70 percent of the people who sign up for their program end up with a discount. This undoubtedly will appeal to many customers.
The tracking devices are allowed in most states. This does not mean that they haven’t raised privacy concerns. The discussions about the possible misuse of tracking data exist in several places. Some call this a Big Brother mentality that should be stopped. Many are worried the tracking will eventually become mandatory and an industry standard.
Are you prepared to have your driving habits tracked?
Iowa is now added to the row of states for which we have enhanced and extended practice tests. It doesn’t matter if you are studying for the full, non-restricted license or getting your first instruction permit. We cover the Iowa driver’s manual from the first page to the last.
When you take our practice tests, you can be sure you will get practice questions from all the important areas, and you will learn the easy way. Most users taking our practice tests before their written knowledge test pass the first time, and they pass with ease.
Number of Questions
The Iowa knowledge test is designed to tell how well you know and understand highway signs and Iowa traffic laws. The number of questions on your test varies depending on type of license. Normally, you should expect 35 questions and a passing score of 80%.
Our practice tests consist of 25 questions, and you must correctly answer 20 questions (80%). You can take our free practice tests several times; you will get a new set of question each time. This helps you verify that you know all important rules and safe driving practices needed for your exam.
Most examining stations offer the test on computers, but you may also get the test on paper.